Australian Champions Decided This Weekend

Four hundred of Australia’s best young kart racers will put it all on the line to chase motorsport glory at the final round of the 2023 SP Tools Australian Kart Championship presented by Castrol in Melbourne this weekend.

After four thrilling rounds, the battle for the title in the elite KZ2 Gearbox category is down to three drivers who are in with a shot to etch their name on the prestigious John Pizarro Perpetual Trophy awarded to the Champion.

Jake Klarich (left), Reece Cohen (centre) and Sam Dicker (right) are set to battle for the John Pizarro Trophy as KZ2 Australian Champion this weekend (Pic: Pace Images)

Leading the way are a pair of Western Australians – Sam Dicker and Jake Klarich, who are separated by ten points, with Sydneysider Reece Cohen in third place.

At the other end of the karting scale, the title chase in the Cadet ranks is even closer with a solitary point separating Corey Carson and Lana Flack atop of the Cadet 12 standings and eight points between Perth’s Jay Kostecki and Townsville’s Brock Nolan. If Carson can succeed this weekend, he will become the first driver that started their karting journey in the SP Tools Junior Sprockets program to taste Championship success while if Flack succeeds, she will become the first female Australian Kart Champion in the modern era.

A trio of Victorians will dice it out in the KA3 Junior category with William Thompson, Pip Casebene and James Anagnostiadis all within 10 points.

Corey Carson leads the way in Cadet 12 Title chase by a solitary point (Pic: Pace Images)

Sydneysider Jackson Souslin-Harlow leads former Australian Champion Jake Spencer in the TaG 125 category while Keegan Fraser has a handy buffer in the lead of the KA3 Senior title chase.


Queenslander Jace Matthews looks set to become the fourth driver to etch his name on the James Courtney Perpetual Trophy for the second time with victory in the X30 Class.

A dominating year by Max Walton has ensured that is unbeatable in the KA2 Championship entering this weekend’s final round and his name will appear alongside the likes of current Formula 2 driver Jack Doohan and Supercars trio Broc Feeney, Cameron Hill and Tim Slade on the Jon Targett Perpetual Trophy awarded to the elite Junior Champion.

Practice for the event is this afternoon before continuing tomorrow ahead of qualifying and the start of racing. The event will come to a trilling conclusion with the finals on Sunday afternoon.

The Port Melbourne International Karting Complex is located on the corner of Cook Street and Todd Road, Port Melbourne. Admission is free for spectators.

Saturday and Sunday’s action will be streamed live on or through the My Sport Live App. Follow the Australian Kart Championship and Karting Australia Facebook Pages for regular updates across throughout the event.

Round 5 Entries