Ultimate Club Racers Crowned

from karting.net.au

Karting Australia’s Ultimate Club Racers have been crowned for 2023 after a big weekend at Hume International Raceway, Seymour in Northern Victoria – the third edition of the annual event that brings together club racers from across the country in a professional – but relaxed environment.

  • full results on speedhive HERE
  • photos on KA Facebook HERE
  • on-demand video HERE (requires subscription)

There were some fantastic performances, new and old names that walked away with the presentation plates after the two days of racing.

Dominant performances were seen by former Australian Cadet and Junior front-runner, Ben Holliday who successfully moved into senior racing winning each TaG 125 Light race over the weekend, another was Oliver Armitt in Cadet 9 who achieved the same feat.

The Ultimate Club Racer Winners enjoy the spoils of victory (Pic: Tim Francis)

Holliday won TaG Light over William Gallagher and Felix Kajewski; while Armitt won his class in front of Lex Kelly – son of Bathurst winner, Rick – and Rossi Yau. However, in the same race (which was combined with 4SS Cadet), Maxwell Padilha won the 4SS category, but actually finished second overall.

Another son of a gun earned silverware in Jack Johnson – son of Western Bulldogs AFL legend, Brad – winning TaG 125 Heavy in front of Ian Branson and Zach Morris.

The Sydney-based Singh brothers bookended the podium in Cadet 12 with Oscar winning over Koda and Lucas Costanzo finishing in between them.

Ultimate Club Racer III crowned the first ever female UKC with Madi Bickerton winning the TaG Restricted Light category in a hard fought battle, with Jarrod Bottomley coming home in second and Brock Burton finishing third. In the same race, Jeremy Glover took out the Medium division and Joe Brancati the Heavy.


Logan Lalas won KA3 Junior Heavy in front of Chelsea Humphrey, with Angus Fletcher third. Meantime, Levi Ross won the 4SS Junior category in the same race after a spirited battle all weekend long with Justin Yuen.

Jayden Paragreen won KA3 Senior Light over Dallas Greene and Isabel Rowe; Zach Findlay taking the Medium division over Jarrod Bottomley and Matthew Nietz.

Aiden Schweikert won KA3 Junior Light over Aaron Bottomley and Riley Harrison – the South Australian successfully making the transition from sub-Junior categories to Juniors.

Darcy Briggs took out 4SS Senior after a weekend long battle with Wesley Bowden – Lachlan Shearsmith emerging third after his own race long battles. Brayden Slama won 4SS Medium, while Jacob Holland took out the Heavy division and Peter Leonard the SuperMaxx category.

The traditional UCR Saturday afternoon State of Origin Teams event, which comprised four segments, went the way of New South Wales over Victoria and South Australia with just three points separating the top three states.

Thus brings to an end the third instalment of the Ultimate Club Racer – the first held in Victoria – and giving the Club Racers their time to shine on the national stage.

On-demand footage of Saturday afternoon and Sunday’s competition can be viewed at watchmysportlive.tv and full event results can be accessed via MyLaps Speedhive here


Cadet 9 – Oliver Armitt (VIC)
Cadet 4SS – Maxwell Padiha (QLD)
Cadet 12 – Oscar Singh (NSW)
KA3 Junior Light – Aiden Schweikert (VIC)
KA3 Junior Heavy – Logan Lalas (NSW)
Junior 4SS – Levi Ross (SA)
KA3 Senior Light – Jaylen Paragreen (VIC)
KA3 Senior Medium – Zach Findlay (VIC)
TaG 125 Restricted Light – Madi Bickerton (VIC)
TaG 125 Restricted Medium – Jeremy Glover (VIC)
TaG 125 Restricted Heavy – Joe Brancati (VIC)
Senior 4SS Light – Darcy Briggs (QLD)
Senior 4SS Medium – Brayden Slama (VIC)
Senior 4SS Heavy – Jacob Holland (VIC)
Senior 4SS Supermaxx Heavy – Peter Leonard (VIC)
TaG 125 Light – Ben Holliday (SA)
TaG 125 Heavy – Jack Johnson (VIC)