Preview: Capri Cup at Ipswich

by Russell Innes, IKC

Ipswich Kart Club will round out a hugely successful season of racing on Saturday with the 8th and Final Round of the 2023 Club Championship, the Capri Cup. Over 200 entries have been received and each class will contest Qualifying, 2 Heats and a Final on the traditional Capri Cup “K Track Reverse” layout.

Alf Capri with his wife Maureen upon being presented the 2019 ‘Spirit of Speed Volunteer of the Year Award’ at the Motorsport Australia Hall of Fame Dinner (pic – KA)

Jaxson Fischle, James Raaymakers, Trent Newton, Jackson Cooper, Charlotte Page and Lucas Lesmes are expected to battle it out for the podium placings in KA3 Junior Heavy, whilst in KA3 Junior Light there are multiple potential podium finishers amongst the likes of Jye Flynn, Sebastian Bennett, Patrick Buckley, Tyson McGill, Hamish Campbell, Ky Burke and Isaac McNeill.

KA2 Junior has a small but quality field with Isaac McNeill, Tyson McGill, Ky Burke, Annabel Kennedy and Charlotte Page all going for a podium finish.

Current Australian Champion Keegan Fraser will have some strong competition in KA3 Senior with Dominic Penman and Max Walton both recently graduating from Juniors.

Alester Flack, Gabriel Elkayam, Brock Helm, Cooper Folley, Michael Quintiliani, Riley Curtis and Declan Hicks are the usual frontrunners in Cadet 12, but others like Archer Bailey, Alistair Leggatt, Jeremy Broadbent, Vincent Ter Horst and Monty Jamieson will be looking to progress up and fight in this group.


Cadet 9 will be very hotly contested between Harlen Bell, Lukas Loeskow, Riccardo Johnston, Martin Hsieh, Oliver Flack, Kenichi Morita and Jack Musico, with Ayrton Hobday, Felix Sim, Olivia Walton and Joshua Fabian all looking to finish off the season strong.

In 4SS Junior, last Round winner Jaxon Duong will have strong competition from Jett Saraghi, Johnny Wright, Will Hammond and Liam Ioannidis. In the 4SS Senior classes, Darcy Briggs and Jordan Briggs are always frontrunners in 4SS Senior Light, but will face stiff competition from Maxwell Reibelt and Andy Mann, whilst Ronan Finn and Mark Wilkinson will battle for the 4SS Senior Medium glory.

Across the TAG Restricted classes, in TAG restricted Light Jake Czislowski will be aiming to keep his momentum going from his recent State Cup win over Jack Munro who had won everything at Ipswich until State Cup. Robert Mortensen, Josh Frew, Nathaniel Harrison and Ned Lenehan are always in the mix and will all be aiming for a podium, whilst Dominic Penman will want to impress in his 1st run in this class at Ipswich. TAG Restricted Masters has been a very entertaining class to watch this year with really big numbers and a strong 18 kart field will be led by the likes of Noel Smyth, Gavin Soward and Mark D’Arcy. Bradley McNaught will start favourite in TAG Restricted Medium with Justin Voight, Luc Jacobsen, Zac King, Noel Smyth, Alan Czislowski, Sebastian DiSalvo and Michael Oro all ready to take on the challenge.

Dan Hutchinson, Finlay Derry and Ty Spencer will be hard to beat in Queensland Open Performance Heavy, whilst the battle amongst the DD2 Masters drivers will be between Scott Cleveland and Scott Howard. In Queensland Open Performance Light, Bailey Sagaidak will be hard to beat but Lachlan Murphy and Liam Cummings will be trying hard.

Brock Plumb has been virtually unbeatable all year in TAG Heavy, but Brendan Nelson, Chris Williams and Josh Dagg will have one last chance to get a win over him. In TAG Light, the quality of entries is very impressive with Jai Brown, Keegan Fraser, Jack Wells, Thomas Gallagher, William Gallagher, Brent Reading, Max Walton, Marc Tulloch and recent State Cup winner Brodie Norris all vying for the podium.