Aussie Success at Asia Pacific Championships

Australian karter Ky Burke took victory in the Junior class at the Asia Pacific Motorsport Championships in Malaysia last weekend.

Burke qualified fastest in the 17-kart and led the final from start to finish, holding off Singapore driver Isaac Seah with fellow Aussie Bradley Majman third.

Ky Burke

Five Australians contested the karting section of the event. All performed exceptionally well and raced at the front of the field. The team earned a win, a second and a couple of thirds. Young Riley Harrison missed the gold medal in Cadets by just two tenths of a second.

The Team Australia drivers

Aussie Wrap

Ky Burke (Junior – DRM Racing Team)
Q: 2. Heats: 1, 1, 3. Final: 1st.

Bradley Majman (Junior – DRM Racing Team)
Q: 3. Heats: 2, 3, 1. Final: 3rd.

Declan Matthews (Senior)
Q: 5. Heats: 6, 5, 5. Final: 3rd.

Riley Harrison (Cadet – DRM Racing Team)
Q: 1. Heats: 2, 5, 2. Final: 2nd.

Blake Purvis (Cadet – Stratos RL)
Q: 2. Heats: 10, 1, 3. Final: DSQ (4th over line)

Declan Matthews in the Senior class
  • Scroll down for video streams
  • full results are HERE
Blake Purvis enjoys some shade on the grid

by Motorsport Australia

Team Australia has done its country proud after an inspiring performance at the inaugural Asia Pacific Motorsport Championships in Malaysia.

More than 150 competitors from 18 countries competed for gold across five disciplines, including Esports, Gymkhana, Rally, Karting and Karting Slalom.

But in the end, it was the 12 talented Australian representatives selected by Motorsport Australia and Karting Australia that combined for a competition-high nine medals, with the three golds enough to finish in an impressive second place behind host nation, Malaysia.

The team was led by captain multi-Motorsport Australia Motorkhana Champion, Aaron Wuillemin, who took part in the Gymkhana aspect alongside Corinne East-Johnson, an accomplished motorkhana competitor with her own impressive credentials.

Unfortunately, the duo were unable to secure any medals across the weekend but played a pivotal role in leading a great mix of Senior and Junior competitors throughout.


Leading the weekend charge was former Bosch Motorsport Australia Rally Championship (ARC) competitors Molly Spalding and Matthew Dillon – securing two competition golds after an incredible showing in both the controlled and regularity phases of the rally.

While a second place finish in the Controlled Speed Stage was an impressive feat in itself, the duo went one better on Sunday by taking top honours in Rally Regularity.

The combined 47 points was enough to edge out the strong Sri Lankan duo of Sam D Smith and Thrisha Hisham Samsudeen in the APMC Rally Cup, who claimed silver.

Another young driver leaving Sepang International Circuit with gold around their neck was Ky Burke, who won the Junior category in Karting after a thrilling encounter with Singapore’s Isaac Seah, while another Aussie, Bardley Majman claimed bronze in the same race.

Majman was one of two Karting Australia representatives to claim a bronze medal, with Declan Matthews taking the same honours as the sole Australian in the Senior division.

Meanwhile, the weekend will forever be etched in the memory of young Riley Harrison, who missed out on a gold medal by just two tenths of a second in the Cadet division, settling for what was still a remarkable silver medal worthy performance.

Unfortunately, Blake Purvis was one of three drivers who were disqualified due to a technical infringement, cancelling out what was an impressive race nonetheless.

It was an incredibly strong showing in the Esports discipline with two top-three finishes in both the drivers and team championships respectively.  

In the Esports battle, RaceSpec Elite Series Champion Zachary Smith finished in a convincing second place after 30 laps around Silverstone Circuit, with Ryan Hoolihan making it two Aussies in the top five after finishing fifth.  

The duo then had their eyes locked on gold in the Team Championship, but would ultimately claim another silver – falling just four tenths of a second short after 60 laps of racing.

Australian medal tally

Ky Burke – Karting Sprint (Junior)
Molly Spalding and Matthew Dillon – Rally Regularity
Molly Spalding and Matthew Dillon – APMC Rally Cup

Riley Harrison – Karting Sprint (Cadet)
Molly Spalding and Matthew Dillion – Controlled Speed Stage Rally
Zachary Smith – Esports (GT3)
Zachary Smith and Ryan Hoolihan – Esports (Team)

Declan Matthews – Karting Sprint (Senior)
Bradley Majman – Karting Sprint (Junior)


Finals day – morning

Finals day – afternoon