Guitars at Tamworth’s C2C

from Kev ‘The Noise’ Davies

Surfboard trophies are the tradition on the Gold Coast and now the Tamworth Kart Club hopes to have established a new tradition, awarding guitar trophies to the series winners of the Coast-2-Country Series on the weekend.

Senior Performance winner Sebastian Varnell (pic – the Noise)

The Noise reports it was a great meeting in Tamworth for the third and final round of Coasts-2-Country series. But what came as a surprise was the awarding of guitar trophies.

“The series winners were decided on the weekend and up for grabs – the best kept secret at the club in a long time – guitar trophies for the series winners” Kev informed KartSportNews.

“(This) will be a yearly thing now and many will be looking to win a guitar in 2024!

“There was some great racing over both days of the race meeting, seen by all at the track and many viewers on the live feeds.

“The track itself lends itself to some very competitive racing with many overtaking opportunities.”

This was a ‘red plate’ event with qualifying and then progressive grids through to the winner-take-all finals. First place in each class earned a free entry into the KNSW State Championship.

Lots of drivers won round black things plus other prizes

Many prizes were also randomly drawn with lots of tyres given away by sponsors.

Kev said it was a great final in Junior Heavy with Joshua Benaud taking victory with a move before the last corner of the 16-lap final over Timothy Reed. Hudson Petta managed a fabulous victory in the Novice class over the ever consistent Vasili Baralos.

Jay Keam
  • scroll to the bottom for photo gallery
  • full results from the round on speedhive HERE
  • more video on The Noise YouTube HERE
  • more pics (over 2,300!) on Kev’s Facebook HERE
  • some driver interviews on The Noise Facebook HERE (and scroll down)

Results & Video Of The Finals

4SS Medium
1 Michael Harris
2 Will Jones
3 Daniel Ferry

4SS Light
1 Ben Phillips


Junior Heavy
1 Joshua Benaud
2 Timothy Reed
3 Diesel Compton

Junior Light
1 Jackson Selwood
2 Ethan Johnson
3 Neeko Clements

1 Hudson John Petta
2 Vasili Baralos
3 Kody Jenkins

1 Cooper Clavell
2 Braxton Regan
3 James Brett

Senior Performance Light
1 Sebastian Varnell
2 Toby Keam
3 Jay Keam

TaG Restricted Heavy
1 Daniel Ferry
2 Scott Hargans
3 Andrew Trappel

TaG Restricted Light
1 Will Jones
2 Todd Stocks
3 Riley Rouse