New Drivers & New Winners

New drivers and new winners featured at the opening round of the Gippsland Go Kart Club’s 2023 Championship at Morwell on Sunday.

Warragul’s Xander Rowse made the ideal start to his karting career, winning the Cadet 9 class on his debut drive.

In his first race meeting at Morwell, Xander Rowse won the Cadet 9 class aboard his Kosmic kart (pic – Steve Dansie)

Corey O’Brien took a clean sweep of heat wins to take victory in Cadet 12 over Harry Jones, who overcame an engine problem in practice to take a quadruplicate of second placings. First-timer Mason Nicola put in a great effort for third.

Newborough’s Cameron Anderson moved up from juniors in the off-season and scored his first win in the Senior ranks, taking a narrow victory in KA3 Medium over the Wicks brothers.

Cameron Anderson (71) resisted relentless pressure to win the Senior Medium class, here ahead of Mark Wicks (2) and George Lee (95) (pic – Steve Dansie)

KA3 Senior Light had last year’s front runners in the top placings once more, Jamie Rowe winning over Isabel Rowe. Nick Popple was third with Harley Bright just off the podium in fourth.

Having contested the SuperNats in Las Vegas last year, Cohen Naumann returned to racing at Morwell and won the KA3 Junior Light division over Cody Boys and Thomas Hickson. Ryan Wyhoon took out KA3 Junior Heavy.

With international experience under his belt, Cohen Naumann (46) took victory in the junior class, here ahead of Ryan Wyhoon (49) and Cody Boys (pic – Steve Dansie)

Next race meeting at Tramway Park Raceway is round 2 of the series on March 19.

  • full results are on speedhive HERE
KA3 Senior Light get the start, Jamie (48) and Isabel (50) Rowe off the front (pic – Steve Dansie)
Hunter Bailey is a new driver in the junior ranks driving the Praga previously owned by club President, Troy Alger (pic – Steve Dansie)


Cadet 12
1 Corey O’Brien
2 Harry Jones
3 Mason Nicola


Corey O’Brien leads Harry Jones (hidden) and Mason Nicola (pic – Steve Dansie)

Cadet 9
1 Xander Rowse
2 Jett O’Leary

KA3 Senior Light
1 Jamie Rowe
2 Isabel Rowe
3 Nick Popple

Nick Popple leads Jamie and Isabel Rowe (pic – Steve Dansie)

KA3 Senior Medium
1 Cameron Anderson
2 Mark Wicks
3 Grant Wicks

Teilor Woolford leads the opening heat, KA3 Senior Medium (pic – Steve Dansie)

TaG 125 Heavy
1 Geoff Whoon
2 David Bishoff

TaG 125 Light
1 Jamie Rowe

TaG 125, Jamie Rowe ahead of Geoff Wyhoon and David Bishoff

KA3 Junior Light
1 Cohen Naumann
2 Cody Boys
3 Thomas Hickson

Cody Boys (16) and Cohen Naumann, KA3 Junior Light (pic – Steve Dansie)

KA3 Junior Heavy
1 Ryan Wyhoon
2 Hunter Bailey