Champions Crowned at Peninsula Dirt Kart Finale

from YPDKC

The Yorke Peninsula Dirt Kart Club ran its last race meeting for 2021 last Saturday, and it was a hotly contested event with 100 drivers over 10 classes.

Some race incidents early and the hot weather and persisting winds kept the track crew hard at work until sunset.

The new surface was great and confirmed the recent work done by the club has been beneficial, with a few more slight changes the track will be ready for SA titles next year.

The racing was good all night with passing opportunities and very few incidents after the early few incidents. This was great to see and produced some close results.

Well done to all the officials and volunteers once again, we can’t race without your support. Something the drivers and crew need to remember is without these people you can’t race so be positive and have respect for all volunteers at race days.


The Education Day was well supported on Sunday and a lot of laps were had by all. We saw some great improvement in some of the younger drivers by the end of the session.

The AGM/Club Presentations were held after a BBQ lunch at the club and we thank all those that managed to attend especially all those who took on roles at the club for the 2022 season.


Juniors – 1st Brayden Furler, 2nd Nate Greenslade (on countback with 3rd) 3rd Makayla Short
Seniors – 1st Jack Short, 2nd (tied) Brayden Dunn & Matt Mahar

These results were close all year and the eventual placings only decided at last night’s race meeting. Well done to all others that qualified for the Club Championships this year.


Midgets – Chase Lewis, Mason Palmer, Maddalyn Chapman, Savannah Strother, Callum Strother, Luke Marafioti, Stefan Smith
Rookies – Maddi Lewis, Luca Brunoli, Maddison Lenard, Antony La Bella, Jaxon Frith
Junior Light – 1st Brayden Furler, 2nd Zac Stint, 3rd Seth Jones
Junior Heavy – 1st Nate Greenslade, 2nd Makayla Short, 3rd Kacie Duff
KT Light – 1st Alexander Magro, 2nd Kaitlin Vickers, 3rd Jack Short
KT Medium – 1st Jakyb Sharman, 2nd Noah Smith, 3rd Ethan Bailey
Statesman – 1st Corey Bilney, 2nd Larry Furler, 3rd Tim Kovarik
125 Light – 1st Ben Oxley, 2nd Talitha Stott, 3rd David Hartland
125 Heavy – 1st Bailey Heinrich, 2nd Ryan Rodda, 3rd Rick Kovarik
Outlaw – 1st Brett Morgan, 2nd Peter McClelland, 3rd Harley Nicholls