Bray Back On Top at BoP

Auckland-based international Daniel Bray claimed his second Aarque Group KZ2 class win of the 2019 season at an all-action third round of this year’s Toyota Racing ProKart Series in conjunction with Speedworks at Te Puke in the Bay of Plenty on Sunday.

After winning the first round in Palmerston North in February then ending up third behind fellow Aucklanders Graeme Smyth and Mat Kinsman at the second round in Rotorua in March, Bray won three of the four KZ2 class heats and finished second in the other heat, the Pre-Final and the Final at the KartSport Bay of Plenty club’s Visi Line Raceway to win the round by two points from Hamilton driver Rhys Tinney with Mat Kinsman third.

Jared Mackenzie, KZ2 Masters (pic – Fast Company/Cameron Lee)

Kinsman had his work cut out in the heats after an exclusion in qualifying saw him start each one from the back of the 22-kart grid. But by working his way into the top 10 in each he qualified fifth for, and worked his way to third in, the Pre-Final then won the Final after catching and passing both early leader Bray and Rnd 2 class winner Graeme Smyth.

Smyth was then excluded from the race for being one of several drivers to pass under a yellow flag, elevating Bray to second, Tinney to third and Brandon Lambert from Mangakino to fourth.

Garry Cullum, KZ4 (pic – Fast Company/Cameron Lee)

Despite failing to add to his points tally in the Final, Graeme Smyth ended up fourth overall for the round, behind Bray, Tinney and Mat Kinsman, but ahead of quick teen Josh Parkinson, top Tauranga ace Sam Waddell (one of the others drivers excluded from the Final for passing under a yellow flag) and class and series stalwart Ryan Grant.

In the other two Aarque Group KZ2 classes both Jared MacKenzie (KZ2 Masters) and Regan Hall (KZ4) topped their respective podiums for the third round in a row though neither was able to do it with a clean sweep.

MacKenzie started with a P4 in his first KZ2 Masters heat race before going in to win the other three (heats), then both the Pre-Final and Final to claim another clear round win from David Malcolm and Kevan Storr who tied for second place, leaving fellow Aucklander Andrew Hunt fourth and Tim Loughran from the Hawke’s Bay fifth.

Mat Kinsman, KZ2 (pic – Fast Company/Cameron Lee)

Hall, meanwhile, won all four KZ4 heats but ended up in third in both the Pre-Final and Final, in the latter case behind former class title holder and pace-setter Garry Cullum from Auckland, and Aaron Wooley from Hamilton who ended up joining Hall on the round podium.

In the Rotax Max classes Rotorua’s Riley Spargo claimed his second round win in a row in Giltrap Group Rotax Max Junior. While it was young Auckland driver Nathan Crang who won the Final – from Hamilton’s Clay Osborne and fast-rising local female driver Gemma Winters – Spargo took the round thanks to two wins and two second placings across the heats and another second place in the Pre-Final.

Osborne and Winters joined him on the round podium, though Auckland’s Dylan Grant – who won the Pre-Final and finished fourth overall – was the big mover in the series rankings and is now third behind Spargo and Clay Osborne.


Palmerston North ace Jackson Rooney became the third different driver in as many rounds to win the Giltrap Group Rotax Max Light class, his dominant performance – four heat wins from four starts, a fifth in the Pre-Final then fifth win of the weekend in the Final – making him the clear round winner from local Corey Green and Aucklander Ashton Grant.

Jackson Rooney, 125cc Rotax Max Light (pic – Fast Company/Cameron Lee)

Recently crowned class NZ#1 Fynn Osborne ended up fourth for the round after a mixed weekend of results but maintained his class series’ lead by six points over Grant and Marco Giltrap.

Finally, local ace Darren Walker was the dominant figure in the Manawatu Toyota Rotax Max Heavy class with three wins out of four (and a second in the other) in the heat races, third place in the Pre-Final and a fourth win for the weekend in the Final.

Second overall for the round was Ashley Higgins from Palmerston North, third class sponsor Brendan Hart from Manawatu Toyota. After finishing third in class at the first round of this year’s series, and runner-up at the second, the ever-improving Darren Walker now has a 49 point lead over Auckland’s Henry Gelb in the series points standings.

Next stop on the 2019 Toyota Racing ProKart Series in conjunction with Speedworks is KartSport Auckland’s Giltrap Group Raceway at Auckland’s Rosebank Domain for the fourth of six rounds over the June 15-16 weekend.

RESULTS – 2019 Toyota Racing ProKart Series in conjunction with Speedworks

Aarque Group KZ2
Round – 1. Daniel Bray; 2. Rhys Tinney; 3. Mat Kinsman; 4. Graeme Smyth; 5. Josh Parkinson; 6. Sam Waddell.
Points after Rnd 3 of 6 – 1. Daniel Bray 268 points; 2. Mat Kinsman 264; 3. Graeme Smyth 261; 4. Rhys Tinney 253; 5. Ryan Grant; 6. Josh Parkinson 246

Aarque Group KZ2 Masters
Round – 1. Jared MacKenzie; 2=. David Malcolm & Kevan Storr; 4. Andrew Hunt; 5. Tim Loughran; 6. Jason Gunn.
Points after Rnd 3 of 6 – 1. Jared MacKenzie 267 points; 2=. Andrew Hunt & Kevan Storr 258; 4. Tim Loughran 256; 5. Jason Gunn 250; 6. David Malcolm 173.

Aarque Group KZ4
Round – 1. Regan Hall; 2. Garry Cullum; 3. Aaron Wooley; 4. Sam Dashfield; 5. Shaun Curran; 6. Nick Tombleson.
Points after Rnd 3 of 6 – 1. Regan Hall 275 points; 2. Garry Cullum 265; 3. Aaron Wooley 258; 4. Sam Dashfield 255; 5. Shaun Curran 251; 6. Gerhard Benadie 246.

Giltrap Group 125cc Rotax Max Light
Round – 1. Jackson Rooney; 2. Corey Green; 3. Ashton Grant; 4=. Fynn Osborne & Marco Giltrap; 6. George Sampson.
Points after Rnd 3 of 6 – 1. Fynn Osborne 263 points; 2. Ashton Grant 257; 3. Marco Giltrap 248; 4. Shaun Johnston 241; 5. Jackson Rooney 178; 6. Ryan Crombie 177

Manawatu Toyota 125cc Rotax Max Heavy
Round – 1. Darren Walker; 2. Ashley Higgins; 3. Brendon Hart; 4. Clayton Christie; 5. David Malcolm; 6. Scott Hatton.
Points after Rnd 3 of 6 – 1. Darren Walker 266 points; 2. Henry Gelb 217; 3. Ashley Higgins 179; 4. Brendon Hart 171; 5. Simon van der Drift 163; 6. Craig Holmwood 161.

Giltrap Group 125cc Rotax Max Junior
Round – 1. Riley Spargo; 2. Clay Osborne; 3. Gemma Winters; 4. Dylan Grant; 5. Logan Manson; 6. Hayden Bakkerus
Points after Rnd 3 of 6 – 1. Riley Spargo 268 points; 2. Clay Osborne 258; 3. Dylan Grant 253; 4. Nathan Crang 246; 5=. Logan Manson & Gemma Winters 245.