Another Top 10 for Wharton

James Wharton has grabbed another top ten in Europe, taking 8th place in OK-J at the second round of the WSK Super Master Series at Lonato overnight.

In fact, Wharton had put in a great recovery drive to finish 4th in the final, just 1.9s behind the winner Jamie Day (Exprit/Vortex), but was hit with a 5-second nose cone penalty.

(pic – Wharton/Facebook)

Wharton qualified his FA Kart/Vortex a strong 8th of the 101 drivers who set a time. A DNF (29th) in the opening heat was followed by 3, 10, 3, 2 heat races to be ranked 19th overall. This was followed by 6th in his Prefinal

The other two Australians in the field, Christian Mansell and Marcos Flack, both made it through to the Prefinals stage, but neither was able to finish in the top 17 to qualify for the final, taking 23rd and 32nd respectively.

Mansell had earlier qualified 20th with heat results of 5, 30, 26, 6, 14 to rank 42 overall.

Flack qualified 53 and carded 13, 18, 21, 17, 20 heat positions to be ranked 51st.


Saturday wrap video

WSK press

Adrien Renaudin had the best of more experienced drivers in KZ2

The Italian Paolo De Conto (CRG-TM-Bridgestone) led the pack until halfway through the Final, but eventually, the Dutch driver Bas Lammers (Sodi Kart-TM) took over the lead with his teammate from France Adrien Renaudin on his tail. De Conto had to settle for chasing the first two drivers that soon switched positions with P1 going to Renaudin. Once on top of the race, the French fended off Lammers who had been pushing but without finding the right chance to regain the lead. Renaudin pulled a deserved win leading Lammers. De Conto lost the third place to the Dutch Marijn Kremers (BirelArt-TM) when two laps were still to be run. The KZ2 classification is led by Lammers at 91 points, while Renaudin is two points short of him. Above, the podium of KZ2.

Adrien Renaudin (pic – Images)

A Successful comeback for Dexter Patterson in OK

It has been a great racing day for Dexter Patterson (KR-Iame-Bridgestone) in OK. The Scot put in an unstoppable comeback from the fourth row in the Final, closing in on the leading group. The Italian Lorenzo Travisanutto (KR-Iame) was initially in the lead but then had to give his position to the French Noah Milell (Tony Kart-Vortex). Once caught by Patterson, the leading duo were overtaken in a few laps. Travisanutto managed to regain P2, while Milell struggled and lost several positions. The Swede Dino Beganovic (Tony Kart.-Vortex) secured therefore P3. Patterson confirmed to be the main rival of Travisanutto at 128 points thanks to the victory in Lonato. Travisanutto is leading the charts at 151 points. Above, the podium of OK.

Dexter Patterson, P1 on the OK podium (pic – Images)

An Unexpected victory to Jamie Day in OK Junior

The OK Junior Final has been quite unpredictable: after the unexpected stop of Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR-Iame-Vega), who had been leading early on, the victory has been an uncertain fight between Nikita Bedrin and Artem Severiukhin (both on Tony Kart-Vortex). A contact between the two made the two Russians go out at the second-last lap. The British driver Jamie Day (Exprit-Vortex) in their slipstream has been quick to react and avoid the two taking the lead and winning the race. Behind him, the Dutch Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart-Vortex) and the Russian Andrey Zhivnov (Kosmic-Vortex) claimed a deserved podium. Antonelli is leading the classification with 94 points and is followed by Ten Brinke at 90. Above, the podium of OK Junior.

OK Junior podium (pic – Images)

Rashid Al Dhaheri gets another win in 60 Mini

Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin-TM-Vega) led the Final from lights to flag, but the certainty of his second win in WSK Super Master Series arrived only at the chequered flag. The driver from the United Arab Emirates has been challenged by Singapore’s Akshay Bohra (Parolin-TM) first and by the Jamaican Alex Powell (Energy-TM) then. These two have been in turn attacked by the Belgian Ean Eyckmans (Parolin-TM) and the Italian Andrea Filaferro (Tony Kart-TM), that followed Al Dhaheri in the order in a red-hot final. Al Dhaheri is leading the classification at 176 points, while Eyckmans is second at 116. Above, the podium of 60 Mini.


Rashid Al Dhaheri (pic – Images)
Fernando Alonso was lurking in the pits (pic – Images)