Newcastle Kart Racing Club, Round 6

by Maddie Hill 

On Sunday, August 5th, Newcastle Kart Racing Club held its sixth round of the Club Championship under the computer grid format.

The day saw out a 4 minute carby session, with two 8 lap heats, one 10 lap heat and a 12 lap final, with the final results being determined by the position finished in the final.

There was some extremely close racing all day throughout the classes.

In Cadet 9, Kaleb Balak and Parker Crofts had some good battles throughout the day with Kaleb Balak coming out on top, after being mixed in with the Cadet 12s. In Cadet 12, Jordan Shalala fought hard to keep Marshall Crofts and Coda Hamwi off the top step, before clean sweeping the Cadet 12 category. The battle between Harri Mitchell, Tyron Wiseman, Lawson Latham and Cooper Griffiths was unreal, changing positions multiple times throughout every race. Even though Harri Mitchell ended up on top of the podium, Tyron Wiseman in 2nd, Lawson Latham in 3rd and Kyle Cotter in 4th weren’t far behind.

Tyler Brown had a cracking day in KA4 Junior Heavy, winning all races with Alex Mulholland not far behind.

KA3 Senior Light was the race to watch, with Daniel Austin consistently on top 1st position, with Ben Ford and Finlay Burnett having an awesome battle not far behind.

TaG 125 Restricted Light was an interesting class, with a different winner in every race. Michael Schiller, Jack Barrett, Zac Stocks and Gavin Aurish had a close battle for first place, with Gavin Aurish coming out with the win.

In TaG 125 Restricted Medium, after a close battle between Michael Lawrence and Jamie Kremmer, Michael Lawrence finished in first place after Jamie Kremmer was unable to start the final. TaG 125 Restricted Heavy saw only 2 drivers, but kept an exciting battle with Benjamin Powell in 2nd place and Darren Charnock on top.



Cadet 9
1 Kaleb Belak
2 Parker Crofts

Cadet 12
1 Jordan Shalala
2 Marshall Crofts
3 Coda Hamwi

KA4 Junior Light
1 Harri Mitchell
2 Tyron Wiseman
3 Lawson Latham

KA4 Junior Heavy
1 Tyler Brown
2 Alex Mulholland
3 Winston Van Laarhoven

KA3 Senior Light
1 Daniel Austin
2 Benjamin Ford
3 Ryan Hughes

KA3 Senior Medium
1 Christopher Weir
2 Dean Vinson
3 Jack Lemon

TaG 125 Restricted Light
1 Gavin Aurish
2 Michael Schiller
3 Brian Tabbernal

TaG 125 Restricted Medium
1 Michael Lawrence
2 Mach Ford
3 Leigh Grant

TaG 125 Restricted Heavy
1 Darren Charnock
2 Benjamin Powell