Extras Race At Cairns Club Championship Round

from Kim Jones

There was a fantastic turnout to round 3 of the Cairns Kart Club Championship on Saturday May the 12th with racers coming from Mackay and Townsville to get their last chance to test on the Cairns track before Cairns hosts round 2 of the NQ series.

A good field in KA3 Senior Medium saw a fight between locals Nic Beehag, Brodie Davis, Thomas Janusz and Townsville racer Andrew De Courcey.

Nic Beehag starting p1 with Brodie Davis p2 (pic – courtesy Brodie Davis)

Cadet 9 saw Townsville ace Tito Carey take the points victory from fellow Townsville racer Mia De Courcey closely followed by new local talent Tyler Allen.

Cadet 12 witnessed a monumental battle between Matthew Boylett and Michael Janusz with Matthew taking the points win. So close was the battle between these two that their fastest times in the final were an identical 24.973. Townsville product Tyler O’Connor took 3rd position.

TaG Restricted had 11 competitors vying for honors. New driver Lane Daley took the points win closely followed by locals Peter Brown and Nic Beehag. Local favourite Matthew Hunter was unlucky with an accident on turn 2 race 1 putting a premature end to his night.

KA4 Junior saw tight racing all night with gun local Seth Chellingworth taking the points from Hayden Hopp and Summer Allen.



KA3 Senior Medium
1st Nic Beehag
2nd Brodie Davis
3rd Thomas Janusz

Cadet 12
1st Matthew Boylett
2nd Michael Janusz
3rd Tyler O’Connor

KA3 Senior Light
1st Pimthong Kipper

TaG Restricted
1st Lane Daley
2nd Peter Brown
3rd Nic Beehag

KA4 Junior
1st Seth Chellingworth
2nd Hayden Hopp
3rd Summer Allen