Ethan Wyllie Nails McDonald’s Young Guns

by Stuart Lee

Experienced Devonport Karter Ethan Wyllie added his name to the coveted McDonald’s Young Guns shield after a titanic 20-lap race on Saturday.

Wyllie and Hobart’s Fletcher Bellars duked it out all day in the heats and in the time-honoured McDonald’s Young Guns feature it was no different. Bellars had the early advantage but Wyllie chased him down to take a very deserving win.

McDonald’s Youngs Guns Podium (L to R) – 2nd Fletcher Bellars, 1st Ethan Wyllie, Former Young Guns winner Jackson Callow, 3rd William Blair (pic – Stuart Lee)

The Wyllie family are also connected with the Cadet 9 & 12 Young Guns Shield named in their honour, the shield is won by the driver who accumulates the most points over the entire days racing.

Talented Launceston Karter Toby Callow claimed his third win in the Cadets shield when he won Cadet 12 for the second time after claiming the inaugural win in Cadet 9 back in 2016.

Cadet 12 Podium (L to R) – Denzil Sargent 2nd, Toby Callow 1st, Bevan Wyllie, Ollie Richardson 3rd (pic – Stuart Lee)

A new name will be place on the Cadet 9 shield after Hobart’s Oliver Wickham defeated twin brother Jordan with Mitchel Conroy third.

In great weather conditions over 90 karters competed in the first race meeting of the year with a few young Cadet 9 drivers aged 7 competing for the very first time to men in their 70s racing around demonstrating the karts of yesteryear in the Vintage category.

Club president Stuart Lee was pleased with the competitor numbers and spectators that turned up for one of the club’s coveted events. It was also good to see a number of families use the facility and camped the night and travelled home on Sunday.

Cadet 9 podium (L to R) Jordan Wickham 2nd, Oliver Wicham 1st, Bevan Wyllie, Mitchell Conroy 3rd (pic – Stuart Lee)

In other races on the day, Zane Wyatt won the Open Performance classes defeating Adam Garwood and Jackson Callow; Nathan Zuj won TaG 125 Light after a great battle with fellow Launceston Kart Club member Alastair Lee; Spreyton’s Jorden Distill won KA3 Senior from Murray Dadson and Ben Marley; Tim Piper claimed the win in TaG Restricted Light; Daniel Hinds had a commanding day out in TaG Restricted Medium; ever-green coastal driver Dallas Harris won TaG Restricted Heavy; Keenan Slater won KA4 Senior Light with Andrew Walter claiming victory in KA4 Masters.

A number of lap records were all so set on the day with Adam Garwood clocking 33.300 seconds in Open Performance, Alastair Lee 34.481 in TaG 125 Light, Andrew Walter 38.737 in KA4 Masters and Shane Toon 38.450 TaG Restricted Heavy.

A few of the campers set up for the night @ the Launceston Kart Club (pic – Stuart Lee)


Cadet 9
1st Jorden Wickham
2nd Oliver Wickham
3rd Mitchell Conroy


Cadet 12
1st Toby Callow
2nd Ollie Richardson
3rd Denzil Sargent

KA4 Junior Light
1st Fletcher Bellars
2nd Ethan Wyllie
3rd William Blair

KA3 Juniors
1st Callum Bishop
2nd Tyson Phegan
3rd William Blair

KA4 Senior Light
1st Keenan Slater
2nd Kiana Toon
3rd Nathan Lovell

KA4 Masters
1st Andrew Walter
2nd Keery Beechey
3rd Darrel Duncombe

TaG Restricted Light
1st Tim Piper
2nd Justin Duncombe
3rd Leah Beechey

TaG Restricted Medium
1st Daniel Hinds
2nd Declan Sherburd
3rd Joshua Gadsby

TaG Restricted Heavy
1st Dallas Harris
2nd Cohen Wells

KA3 Senior Medium
1st Jorden Distill
2nd Murray Dadson
3rd Ben Marley

TaG 125 Light
1st Nathan Zuj
2nd Alastair Lee
3rd Jacob Sale

Open Performance
1st Zane Wyatt
2nd Adam Garwood
3rd Jackson Callow

McDonald’s Young Guns (20 laps)
1st Ethan Wyllie
2nd Fletcher Bellars
3rd William Blair