LIVE: WSK Euro Series, Franciacorta

Watch the Aussies compete in the pre-finals and finals of the opening round of the WSK Euro Series round at Franciaorta.

After the qualifying heats, drivers competing under the Australian flag are ranked as follows:

  • Jay Kostecki (Mini U10) – 16
  • Ava Lawrence (Mini U10) – 25
  • Sebastian Eskandari-Marandi (OKN-Junior) – 11
  • William Calleja (OK Junior) – 15
  • Lewis Francis (OK) – 17

Full results on the WSK website HERE.

The leaders after the heats of the WSK Euro Series in Franciacorta

by WSK Promotion

The second day of races for the first round of the WSK Euro Series has concluded at the Franciacorta Karting Track. The qualifying heats served to select and highlight the leading contenders in the MINI, OKNJ, OKN, OKJ, and OK categories among the 245 drivers from 48 countries. They are now ready to face the final phase on Sunday, June 30th, and compete for the trophies of this first stage.

OK-N Junior – Van Staveren leads the protagonists.

The OK-N Junior category featured a strong number of top drivers across the 6 heats. The Dutch driver Billy Van Staveren (#734 Modena Kart/Parolin-TM Kart-Vega) stood out with two victories. The Slovakian poleman Alex Molota (#702 Firefly Racing/Gillard-TM Kart) and Brazilian second-generation racer Neto Antonio Pizzonia (#738 Team Driver/KR-Iame) each secured one victory. The Swedish driver Sebastian Eskandari-Marandi (#704 Ward Racing/Tony Kart-Vortex) also won one heat but received a penalty in the last heat. The Italians Valerio Viapiana (#736 Team Driver/KR-Iame) and Giacomo Giusto (#733 Modena Kart/Parolin-TM Kart) made strong comebacks, with Giusto securing a victory following the penalty to Eskandari-Marandi.   

OKN – Yildirim, Ferrari and Marchesi in the fight.

The Italian Nicolas Marchesi (#809 Team Driver/KR-Iame-Vega) and the Turkish driver Bati Ege Yildirim (#804 Modena Kart/Parolin-TM Kart) were in the spotlight in the first two heats, while the pole-sitter Polish driver Maksymilian Rafalik (#802 KRZ Motorsport/KR-TM Kart) lost positions. In the third and final heat, another Italian, Lamberto Ferrari (#806 FK Motorsport/IPK-TM Kart), emerged victorious, leading to the finish line ahead of Yildirim and Marchesi, who engaged in an exciting battle in the final stages.

OKJ – Kamyab wins the duel.


Great battles have been fought in OK-Junior, with four drivers vying for supremacy. In the direct confrontation between two of the main contenders, the Englishman Roman Kamyab (#326 Ricky Flynn/LN Kart-TM Kart-Vega) won the duel against the Austrian Niklas Schaufler (#301 DPK Racing/KR-Iame), champion of the WSK Champions Cup and WSK Super Master Series. Kamyab secured two victories and also took pole position in qualifying, while Schaufler, the Dutchman Dean Hoogendoorn (#314 AKM Motorsport/KR-Iame), and the American Jack Iliffe (#330 Forza Racing/Exprit-TM Kart) each won one heat. The Spanish driver Christian Costoya (#339 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart) and the Italian Filippo Sala (#327 Ricky Flynn/LN Kart-TM Kart) also rose in the standings, finishing first and second respectively in the last OKJ heat.

OK – Lindblom wins all.

The Swedish driver Scott Lindblom (#221 Fusion Motorsport/KR-Iame-LeCont) achieved a clean sweep with an overall pole position in qualifying and victories in all three of his heats. The Romanian David Cosma-Cristofor (#201 KR Motorsport/KR-Iame), the Frenchman Andy Consani (#243 Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Kart), and the winner of the WSK Super Master Series from Belgium Ean Eyckmans (#239 BirelART Racing/BirelART-TM Kart) were also among the most competitive. The Scottish driver Zac Drummond (#216 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart) also secured top positions. The final heat saw the successful return of the Belgian Kai Rillaerts (#242 Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Kart), who had set the fastest time in qualifying in Session-1.

MINI GR.3 UNDER 10 – Perico leads with a full haul.

In the MINI Gr.3 Under 10 category, the rivalry that began on Friday between the Italian Niccolò Perico (#Energy Corse/Energy-TM Kart-Vega) and the Scottish Mason Robertson (#508 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) continued on Saturday. Perico won the direct confrontation in the penultimate heat, but the gap between them remains small. Perico leads with a clean sweep of three victories, while Robertson has one. The Georgian Leon Chelide (#459 Team Driver/KR-Iame) also claimed a victory, and in the final heat, the Italian David Moscardi (#550 Team Driver/KR-Iame) secured a win as well.

MINI GR.3 – Girardello and Diaz De La Vega are the two leaders.

Several drivers are contending for the leadership in MINI Gr.3. The Italian Gioele Girardello (#574 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart-Vega) leads with one victory and notable placements. The Mexican Santiago Diaz De La Vega (#512 BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) is also among the most formidable, boasting two wins. The Spanish driver Daniel Miron Lorente (#552 Team Driver/KR-Iame) has one victory as well. The Indian driver Oliver Sini (#536 Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) also secured a heat win. The Polish driver Leonardo Gorski (#534 Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) with one victory was also among the front runners.    

The program of the WSK Euro Series, Rd1 Franciacorta:

Sunday, June 30th: Warm up from 8:00; Prefinals from 9:30, Finals from 13:20 covered live on TV and through the Live Streaming.