Great Barrier Reef Titles

from Kev ‘The Noise’ Davies

A fabulous weekend of racing in Proserpine for the 2024 Great Barrier Reef Titles at Whitsundays Kart Club, which also doubled up as round 2 of the NQ Series.

There was great racing in all categories with the standout classes being Cadet 12 and KA3 Junior – very competitive classes with great driving on display.

Jake Lydom won the Junior final (pic – Kevin Davies)

The race commentary sponsored by Bendigo Bank and event prizes donated by Rev Kart Sports, Redcat Adventures & Sealink and Hitachi Mackay.

Amazingly, the Cadet 12 lap record was broken four times, first up by Cruz Patroni then by Brock Molan then by Dustin Pendry and finally the new lap record holder, Aston Mills with a lap under 45 seconds for the first time – 44.987s.

Aston Mills ended the day as holder of the new Cadet 12 lap record (pic – Kevin Davies)
  • scroll to the bottom for photo gallery
  • full results on Speedhive HERE
  • more race videos (heats etc) on The Noise YouTube HERE
  • more photos on Kev’s Facebook HERE
Luke Nolan ahead of Joey Metcalfe in KA3 Junior (pic – Kevin Davies)
Will that first place trophy fit on the kart?? (pic – Kevin Davies)


Cadet 12
1 Cruz Patroni
2 Duston Pendry
3 Aston Mills

TaG 125 Light
1 Thomas Mitchell
2 Dylan Le Garde
3 Brayden Vincent

KA3 Senior Light
1 Adain Stevens
2 Lachlan Sullivan
3 Jye Finch


125 Restricted Light
1 Zachary Ewing
2 Jason Brown
3 Ryan Linneweber

125 Restricted Medium
1 Jeremy Evans
2 Brendon Hickman
3 Leo Rodriguez

4SS Senior Medium
1 Shea Pietersen
2 Glyn Williams

125 Restricted Heavy
1 David Sturgeon

4SS Senior Heavy
1 Michael Pietersen

KA3 Junior
1 Jake Lydom
2 Quade Powers
3 Beau Ellwood

Cadet 9
1 Brody Telford
2 William Bailey
3 Riley Smith