Additional Aussies in Italy

Six Australians are in Italy this weekend contesting the opening round of the WSK Final Cup at Lonato, Brodie Norris (Yendle) and Jay Kostecki joining the four ‘regulars’.

  • live timing HERE
  • live stream (Sunday night AEDT) on WSK YouTube HERE
  • full results HERE
Fresh from Vegas, Brodie Norris (raced as Brodie Yendle in USA) and team at Lonato (pic – Energy Corse Australia/FB)

Aussies to Watch

  • OK (54 entries)
    Dante Vince (KR/IAME) – Q13
    Xavier Avramides (KR/IAME) – Q23
    Brodie Norris (Yendle) (Energy/TM) – Q no time
  • Mini Under 10 (64 entries)
    Jay Kostecki (Parolin/IAME) – Q39
  • Mini (54 entries)
    William Calleja (Parolin/IAME) – Q18
    Sebastian Eskandari-Marandi (Tony Kart/Vortex) – Q26
Fastest qualifier in KZ2, Artem Severiukhin (pic – Sportinphoto)

WSK Qualifying Report

KZ2 – The pole position to Severiukhin.

In the highest-performing category, KZ2, Artem Severiukhin (#24 Racing Line/BirelART-TM Kart-LeCont) surprised all by setting the fastest overall time in 45.531s, posted in the first of the two heats in the category. The second-best overall performance came from the French driver Tom Leuillet (#10 Tony Kart Racing Team/OTK-Vortex) in 45.629s, recording the fastest time in the second heat. Among the top performers was also the Italian Alex Maragliano (#12 Renda Motorsport/Sodikart/TM Kart), who secured the third-best overall time in 45.677s during the first heat.

OKJ – Busso leads Iliffe and Schaufler in qualifying practice.

Three practice sessions were run in OK-Junior. The fastest overall time was set by the Italian Ludovico Busso (#338 Ward Racing/Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) in 47.374s, achieved in the first session. In the second session, the fastest was the Austrian Niklas Schaufler (#345 DPK Racing/KR-Iame) in 47.568s. The American Jack Iliffe (#377 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart) was the fastest in the third session with a time of 47.454s. Among the fastest were also the English driver Roman Kamyab (#326 Ricky Flynn Motorsport/LN Kart-TM Kart) with the second-best time in the first session in 47.579s, the Romanian David Cosma Cristofor (#302 KR Motorsport/KR-Iame) in 47.500s in the third session, and the English driver Lewis Wherrell (#328 Forza Racing/Exprit-TM Kart) in 47.652s in the second session.    

OK – Matveev is the fastest.

A fierce battle unfolded in OK, where Dmitry Matveev (#204 KR Motorsport/KR-Iame-LeCont) emerged as the overall fastest with a time of 46.563s, achieved in the second session. In the first session, the Italian Sebastiano Pavan (#218 OTK/Tony Kart-Vortex) secured the best performance in 46.619s. Following in the second session, the second-best time was recorded by the Czech driver Jiri Becicka (#231 Sumako IPK Racing/IPK-TM Kart) in 46.596s, with the Ukrainian Oleksandr Bondarev (#209 Prema Racing/KR-Iame) posting the second-best time in the first session at 46.640s. The fifth-best overall time was achieved by the Italian Luigi Coluccio (#216 Tony Kart Racing Team/OTK-Vortex) in 46.681s.

Great battle in MINI Gr.3 with Esteves leading all.


In the MINI Gr.3 category, the Swiss driver Riven Esteves (#509 Team Driver Racing Team/KR-Iame-Vega) took the lead with the best time of 52.598s, set in the first session, while the Italian Cristian Blandino (#622 CRG Racing Team/CRG-TM Kart) was the fastest in the second session with a time of 52.617s. Among the fastest were also other Italians, including Michele Orlando (#556 DR/DR-TM Kart) with a time of 52.732s and Gioele Girardello (#611 Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Kart) with a time of 52.756s.

MINI Gr.3 Under 10 – Miron confirms his speed.

In MINI Gr.3 Under 10, the Spanish driver Daniel Miron Lorente (#501 Team Driver Racing Kart/KR-Iame-Vega), winner of the recent WSK Euro Series, took the lead with the best time of 52.665s. The Estonian driver Mark Loomets (#558 Energy Corse/Energy-TM Kart) was the fastest in the first session with a time of 52.919s. In the second session, the Italian driver Lorenzo Leopardi (#595 LGK Racing Kart/BirelART-TM Kart) marked the second-best time at 52.719s, while in the first session, the second-best time was set by another Italian, Daniel Pasquali (#596 King Racing Team/KR-Iame), in 53.085s.   

X30 Junior – Saareks pips Angelina Proenca by 0.010s.

In X30 Junior the Swede Fred Saareks (#724 AD Motorsport/Energy-Iame-MG) claimed pole position in 50.430s leading the French girl Angelina Proenca (#701 Moni Nicolas/Exprit-Iame) by 0.010s and the Mexican Nicolas Cortes (#708 La Motorsport/Falcon-Iame) by 0.144s.

X30 Senior – Rossi in pole position: good duel with Albanese.

In the X30 Senior category, the Italians Federico Rossi (#807 PRK/Tony Kart-Iame-MG) stood out with the best time of 48.140s, followed closely by Federico Albanese (#815 Italcorse Racing Team/Italcorse-Iame) at 0.106s. The third-best performance came from the Greek driver Emmanouil Lioudakis (#813 Martins Nicolas/KR-Iame) at 0.160s.


1st Rd 19/11/2023 LONATO / MINI – OKJ – OK – KZ2 – X30J – X30S
2nd Rd 26/11/2023 FRANCIACORTA / MINI – OKJ – OK – KZ2 – OKN – OKNJ