Dicker Claims AKC Title

Western Australian driver Sam Dicker has been crowned the 2023 KZ2 SP Tools Australian Kart Champion after an exhilarating Grand Final day for the Series presented by Castrol at Port Melbourne’s Todd Road circuit.

After coming agonisingly close last year, Dicker made amends after a tense weekend between he and fellow West Aussie, Jake Klarich. In the end however a storming start from seventh on the grid in the final saw Dicker quickly get into third position.

Sam Dicker celebrating his maiden Australian KZ2 Championship (Pic: Pace Images)

With Klarich at the back end of the top 10 unable to make forward progress (ultimately finishing ninth), it was enough for Dicker to take the Title.

The Grand Final race was thrilling in itself. Supercars star, James Golding had the best of the start from pole position opening a 1.8 second lead, before young West Aussie Dylan Guest used the superior setup on his Ricciardo Kart to close down and get to the lead with six laps remaining. Guest had too much for Golding taking a 0.8 second win from him with Golding third. Reece Cohen, despite starting on the front row got his best ever finish in the Championship in third after crossing the line in fifth placing.

History was created in KA3 Junior, which was arguably the best race in the modern era of the Championship. Organisers had to, for the first time, go to countback to determine the Champion after Pip Casabene and William Thompson finished equal on points.

Pip Casabene was crowned the Champion in KA3 Junior following the best race in the modern era of the Championship (Pic: Pace Images)

The race saw up to 11 lead changes with three wide, two back racing at times. Queensland based South Australian Jack Szewczuk ultimately took the win in his Kart Republic over Casabene and Thompson; with James Anagnostiadis claiming third in the Championship – remarkably – Anagnostiadis led the race at one point before finishing 14th.

One of the greatest chargedowns in Championship history was witnessed in TaG 125. Coming into the weekend, Parolin’s Harrison Hoey was third on the points table, 25 points behind Jackson Souslin-Harlow. In what was an outstanding performance, Hoey won the Championship by 12 points, not being beaten all weekend long. His race in the final was methodical, taking the win from pole position by 1.673 seconds. Out-going Champion, Zac Heard was in with a shot of defending his title from the front row, however finished the race in second, ultimately leaping Souslin-Harlow for second in the Championship after the New South Welshman finished fourth.

Mika Lemasurier was awarded his first win for BirelART in the elite KA2 Junior category.

The final was decided in post event technical after Brad Majman – who crossed the line first – was handed a two place bodywork infringement penalty.

In more drama, Ky Burke was handed a 10 second penalty for a restart infringement, which elevated Lemasurier to the top spot. Hamish Campbell finished second in front of Majman. Just 14 karts finished the final after a turn one coming together eliminated 20 competitors.

Lemasurier did enough to secure second in the title race behind Max Walton, while Majman claimed third.

Mika Lemasurier was all smiles on the KA2 podium (Pic: Pace Images)

KA3 Senior became a Championship anti-climax. Entering the final with a 20 point gap and starting down the order after their various issues through the weekend, the two Title combatants – Keegan Fraser and Benito Montalbano collided at turn one, handing the crown to Fraser less than 100 metres into the race.

What ensued up front though was a battle that would see a first time round winner, ultimately going the way of Tony Kart’s Hugh McGuire, who came out on top of a four kart battle in front of Robert Graham and Hunter Salvatore. This was enough for Salvatore to be awared third in the Series.

With Jace Matthews amassing enough points yesterday to be Champion elect, it was a race for the round win for Matthews and season long rival, Brad Jenner – however neither expected Rush Performance racer, Toby Spinks to be the fly in their ointment and that is precisely what he was.

Although Matthews crossed the line first, he was presented with a two place penalty post-race, elevating Spinks to the top step in front of Jenner.

Jenner claimed second in the Series with round three winner, Harrison Mitchell third.

The raw emotion of victory for Corey Carson (Pic: Pace Images)

The brilliant Cadet 12 Championship didn’t disappoint. Heading into the final, it was a battle between Corey Carson and Lana Flack who were separated by 10 points.


Carson was shuffled right to the back of the field – which then placed the pressure on Flack.

Although pushing forward as high as sixth, Flack wasn’t able to do enough, finishing 10th to Carson’s 14th; the Wollongong racer claiming his maiden Australian Title.

After a stunning weekend which included winning the final by 4.4 seconds, Victorian Archie Bristow came from the clouds to finish third in the Championship. Following Bristow in the final was Cooper Folley and Joseph Bianchini.

Brock Nolan survived what had been a season-long battle with Jay Kostecki to claim the Cadet 9 title in fine style with a 0.7 second win in the Final.

Kostecki’s pointscore was hampered after being disqualified in the final heat for blocking, pushing his start position for the final well down the order.

Nolan led the entire way to win the final over Championship debutant, Alana Gurney and Koda Singh; while Kostecki could only muster eighth.

Tonight, the Champions will be crowned in front of 500 guests at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

The event was livestreamed via http://watchmysportlive.tv, which is where you can watch on-demand coverage from the weekend.

Full results from the weekend can be viewed by clicking here.

Details regarding the 2024 SP Tools Australian Kart Championship, presented by Castrol will be released in the coming weeks.



1. Dylan Guest
2. James Golding
3. Sam Dicker

1. Mika Lemasurier
2. Hamish Campbell
3. Brad Majman

1. Toby Spinks
2. Brad Jenner
3. Jace Matthews

TAG 125:
1. Harrison Hoey
2. Zachary Heard
3. Jack Wells

KA3 Senior:
1. Hugh McGuire
2. Robert Graham
3. Hunter Salvatore

KA3 Junior:
1. Jack Szewczuk
2. Pip Casabene
3. William Thompson

Cadet 12:
1. Archie Bristow
2. Cooper Folley
3. Joseph Bianchini

Cadet 9:
1. Brock Nolan
2. Alana Gurney
3. Koda Singh