Brown Wins The Wenske 100

The Blanchetown Dirt Kart Club hosted the Wenske 100 Open Invitational last weekend. Twenty of the sports hardest chargers primed for battle and a taste of the $2,500 cash prize pool kicked in by some fabulous sponsors.

Racing was pretty fierce from the get go, starting with time trials to set qualifying positions for the heats, and the heats setting grid positions for the B and A Main finals.

(pic – Taylah Hill)

Fastest Qualifiers: Shannon Barry and Mark Burford
Winners: Heat 1 – Ryley Hammerstien, Heat 2 – Mark Burford
B-Main winner: Nick Tapley
Top-8 Dash results: 1st Shannon Barry, 2nd Declan Morrison, 3rd Ben Brown, 4th Rhys Hackett, 5th Mark Burford, 6th Lisa Walker, 7th Jacob Childs & DNS Melissa Crouch.

The Hard Charger/Hard Luck award was presented to Ryley Hammerstein who just had a “Tough Break” day all round. Ryley gets the Great Southern Slam Powered By Hearthhouse Mandurah vouchers and invitation to the event next year in the West.

(pic – Taylah Hill)

The Finals were nuts, “Fast and Furious” with Shannon Barry leading them out as Polesitter. Eventually Ben Brown, who came out of retirement, snagged the $1000 top spot and big trophy, with Shannon Barry, Reece Hackett, Declan Morrison, Harrison Gifford, Nicholas Tapley rounding out the top 6.

Racing from the other support classes during the day – Midgets, Rookies, Juniors, KT classes and 125 classes – was just as exciting with plenty of wheel-to-wheel action.

Props to our awesome sponsors for the 100 Open Invitational: Daniel Wenske, Wenske General Builders Pty Ltd, Showtime Signs, Salter Quality Kitchens, Gawler Motor Rewinders & Electric Motor Centre, Kervers Motorsport, Great Southern Slam Powered By Hearthhouse Mandurah, BRK Karts, Lightning Karts, Kustom Karts & Devil Race Karts.

(pic – Taylah Hill)

Shout out to the “Magnificent 20”, especially those from the west for coming over, and the support class drivers for making the day such an awesome event, with plenty of spectators enjoying the action, and the food and drinks from our Canteen Legends.

Stellar job by Bazz the chief steward, track Crew, lap scorers & all other officials and club members.


  • full results on speedhive HERE

Feature Results

Wenske 100 Invitational A-Main
1 Ben Brown
2 Shannon Barry
3 Rhys Hackett

125 Heavy
1 Bailey Heinrich
2 Daniel Hughes
3 Shane Price

125 Light
1 Jordan Squiers
2 Brett Manuel
3 Steven Bonython

125 Medium
1 Chad Rodda
2 Rhys Heinrich
3 Ridley Sullivan

Junior Heavy
1 Sienna Reichstein
2 Levi Ross
3 Jake Eastley

Junior Light
1 Connor Carruthers
2 Hayden Short
3 Ezra Reichstein

KT Light
1 Kayla Squiers
2 Joel Heinrich
3 Bailey Fridd

KT Medium
1 Luke Squiers
2 Joel Ettridge
3 Tony Connor

1 Chad Ooyendyk
2 Darren Fridd
3 Keir Doe