Gippsland’s Winning Trio

Three drivers enjoyed a perfect result at the Gippsland Go Kart Club’s March race day on Sunday the 19th.

Grant Wicks (Arrow), Nick Popple (KR) and Jordan Bantick (DR) all scored a clean sweep of victories across the four heat races, thus scoring maximum points for their respective class championships.

Nick Popple (47) enjoyed a clean sweep of wins in 100cc Senior Light, but came under pressure from Ashley Morrow (16) in the final (pic – Steve Dansie)

The Cadet classes picked up a new driver, Tahj O’Reilly having his first race and placing third in Cadet 9, which was won by Bantick. Corey O’Brien won the Cadet 12 division for the second event in a row.

Ten drivers contested the KA3 Senior class. Despite lots of close, hard racing through the field, Popple and Wicks popped up in P1 in every race in the Light and Heavy divisions respectively.

The TaG Heavy boys in action, Dave Bishoff leading class winner Geoff Wyhoon (54) and Jarrod Robson (pic – Steve Dansie)

Benjamin Interlandi and Thomas Hickson scored equal points in KA3 Junior Light, Interlandi winning the class on countback. Ryan Wyhoon won the Heavy division.

Next race meeting at Tramway Park Raceway is on Sunday, April 30. There are no admission charges for spectators.


Despite not finishing the final race, Corey O’Brien (20, here ahead of Harry Jones) had earned enough points to claim victory in Cadet 12 (pic – Steve Dansie)


  • full results on speedhive HERE

Cadet 9
1 Jordan Bantick
2 Jett O’Leary
3 Tahj O’Reilly

Jett O’Leary leads Cadet 9 winner Jordan Bantick (pic – Steve Dansie)

Cadet 12
1 Corey O’Brien
2 Mason Nicola
3 Harry Jones

KA3 Senior Light
1 Nick Popple
2 Ashley Morrow
3 Shannon Fisher

KA3 Senior Medium
1 Grant Wicks
2 Mark Wicks
3 Cameron Anderson

Grant Wicks pulled off some big moves to take out the 100cc Senior Medium class (pic – Steve Dansie)

TaG 125 Heavy
1 Geoff Wyhoon
2 Jarred Robson
3 Dave Bishoff

KA3 Junior Light
1 Benjamin Interlandi
2 Thomas Hickson

Benjamin Interlandi (pic – Steve Dansie)

KA3 Junior Heavy
1 Ryan Wyhoon
2 Hunter Bailey