Reid Appointed to Motorsport Australia Board


Karting Australia Director Samantha Reid has been announced as one of three new appointments to the Motorsport Australia Board.

Reid will replace Thea Jeanes-Cochrane as one of Motorsport Australia’s Appointed Directors on the Board.

Reid’s appointment further strengthens the relationship between Motorsport Australia and Karting Australia

“I’m really looking forward to joining the Motorsport Australia Board and further strengthening the relationship between Motorsport Australia and Karting Australia,” said Reid.

“The current Board have done a great job building relationships with stakeholders and navigating a really challenging few years. The next era will need to tackle challenges such as sustainability, accessibility and inclusion in order to deliver on its mission. While these are big challenges, I join feeling confident with the make up of the Board and Andrew’s (Fraser) leadership that the future looks bright.”

Karting Australia Chairman Kevin Davis welcomes Reid’s appointment to the Motorsport Australia Board.

“We’ve already got a very strong working relationship with Motorsport Australia and I welcome the appointment of Samantha to the Motorsport Australia Board, which only serves to further assist in enhancing the relationship between both Organisations,” said Davis.


Two new state-elected Directors will also replace outgoing Vice-President Graeme Emerton and Nick Rahimtulla on the Board.

Former Australian Rally Commission Chair Jon Thomson was elected Director for NSW/ACT, following Emerton’s retirement, while John Gibbons was elected to represent Western Australia to replace the outgoing Rahimtulla.

Motorsport Australia President Andrew Fraser congratulated the new Directors on their respective elections and appointments to the Board.

“We are pleased to welcome Samantha, Jon and John to our Board room, joining a strong, committed and passionate group of individuals,” said Fraser.

“As motorsport continues to rebound strongly from the recent pandemic, it’s up to all of us to make sure we provide the administration with the tools and strategic direction to take the sport to the next level.

“We all recognise the challenges that lay ahead, including the significant increases to insurance premiums, as well as the importance of promoting sustainable, safe and inclusive motorsport activities. I am certain our new Directors share our mission for seeing more people enjoying more motorsport more often.”

2023 Karting Australia Board of Directors
Kevin Davis (Chair)
Andrew Westacott
Garth Tander
John Reynolds
Melissa Holzberger
Michael Masi
Rob Crawford
Samantha Reid