The Bob Gartside Memorial

from Kev ‘The Noise’ Davies

Saturday 16th July saw the annual running of the Bob Gartside race day at Ipswich City Dirt Kart Club – a very special man who started the club and sadly passed away a couple of months ago.

Never before has Ipswich City Dirt Kart Club had as many entries. At least 28 drivers who nominated couldn’t make it (the majority of those through covid) but the event still attracted a staggering 139 racers.

(pic – The Noise)

It was a spectacular day of racing, all started by the Mayor of Ipswich, Teresa Harding, not only with a speech but also a drop of the flag on the first heat race of the day!

We were lucky enough to have with us Brock Thornton (Formula 500 racer), Kody Stothard (Midget racer) & Karl Hoffmans (Sprint car racer) who were all on hand signing hero cards and getting photos with the kids in the two race cars on display.

It all finished off with a tremendous firework display before the real fireworks of the Dash for Cash! 22 drivers attempted to get the quickest one-lap time in and Ryan Casha walked away with the prize pool of $590 after going 32.3 seconds. It was a great finish to what was a very successful meeting.

(pic – The Noise)

Congratulations to the winners of the Kodac Kart Sport Awards:

  • Most improved – Lewis Heggie
  • Volunteer award – Zayd Bailey
  • Best presented – Joseph Withers
  • Sportsmanship – Breanna Formosa
  • Dirtiest Kart Award – Kallan Manning
  • People’s Choice – Mark Booney

Videos of all the Feature races (8 laps, double points) are below. Videos of all the heat races are on Kev’s YouTube channel HERE.

Interview with the Mayor, plus drone footage of the fireworks, on Kev’s Facebook HERE (then scroll down). Scroll down for a photo gallery. LOTS more photos on Kev’s Facebook HERE.

The next race day at ICDKC is on the 6th of August.

(pic – The Noise)


1st Lewis Heggie
2nd Sebastian Woodrow
3rd Billy Wickman

Sub Juniors
1st Xavier Holz
2nd Jordan Holz
3rd Montoya Wright

Junior 100cc
1st Grace Zarb
2nd Kallan Manning
3rd Ryan Kington


Junior One
1st Will Bryson
2nd Riley Kowald
3rd Thomas Bryson

Junior Two
1st Ryan Reid
2nd Zoya Lebar
3rd Zane Chapman

Junior Three
1st Hamilton Rae
2nd Ryan Pick
3rd Nik Lebar

Senior Group 1
1st Davis Scherger
2nd Richard Dimmock
3rd Craig Osbourne

Senior Group 2
Tied 1st Troy Hoswell & Brock Thornton
2nd Jett Adamson
Tied 3rd Ashley Rasmussen & Mark Boon

Senior Group 3
1st Brett Formosa
2nd Craig Taylor
Tied 3rd Tayla Formosa & Ralph Tinetti

Senior Group 4
1st Jason Pryde
Tied 2nd Ryan Casha & Will Edyvean
3rd Cassidy Edyvean

Senior Group 5
1st Brett Harris
2nd Darren Meen

Senior 100cc
1st Stuart Rouse
2nd Shane Manning
3rd Tony Dobson

Senior 125cc
1st Jason Pryde
2nd Josh Bland
3rd John Wilkinson

4-Stroke Modified
1st Sam Hines
2nd Ryan Floyd
3rd Tegan Gartside

2-Stroke Modified
1st Brad Young
2nd John Wilkinson
3rd Shane Crisp

Raffle Winner

1st Prize, Rover Mower – Anthony Maetin
2nd Prize, Out Door Heater – Angela Formosa
3rd Prize, Fire Pit – Ben Withers
4th Prize, $100 Meat Tray – Karl Hoffmans
5th Prize, $80 Meat Tray – Jordan Wensley
6th Prize, $50 – Debbie Floyd
7th Prize, Tool Box – Treye Gundry
8th Prize, Tool Set – Brett Harris
9th Prize, Karl Hoffmans Racing Junmper – Breanna Formosa
10th Prize, Karl Hoffmans Racing Shirt – Zayd Bailey