Rotax Pro Tour, Round 2

The second round of the Rotax Pro Tour (Australian Rotax MAX Challenge Series) was held at Geelong, Victoria, across the weekend. The meeting also crowned blue plates for the Victorian State Rotax Champions in each class.

(pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

A number of local Victorian drivers contested this round as it was in their home state, however the majority of entrants came from interstate, and the numbers were down a little on the opening round in Canberra.

A couple of local Geelong racers fared well, Austin McPherson taking the win in Micro MAX and Daniel Richert third in Rotax Heavy.

BRP-Rotax’s Darrell Smith and Rotax Grand Finals TV host Jen Wade were both at the meeting, enjoying a quick visit home to Australia (their first in several years) before heading back to Europe and the opening Euro round in France.

Next round is at Ipswich on June 16-19 where a series of random-grid (ie, no qualifying session) heat races will be run in daytime and at night.

Tight turn one in the Mini MAX final! Corey Carson leads from an out-of-shape Riley Harrison, Jensen Marold and Blake Purvis #6 (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

Round 2 Results

  • full results on speedhive HERE
  • more photos on Pro Tour Facebook HERE

Micro MAX
1 Austin McPherson
2 Koda Singh
3 Jay Kostecki


Micro MAX podium. Trophies were presented by Darrell Smith (right) (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

Mini MAX
1 Cory Carson
2 Jensen Tyler Marold
3 Liam Carr

Mini MAX podium (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

Rotax Heavy
1 Regan Payne
2 Matthew Lopino
3 Daniel Richert

Rotax Heavy podium (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

Junior MAX
1 James Anagnostiadis
2 Max Walton
3 Toby Spinks

Junior MAX podium (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

Rotax Light
1 Tyler Howard
2 Hamish Fitzsimmons
3 Harrison Hoey

Rotax Light podium (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

1 Jackson Rooney
2 Josh Bethune
3 Jonathon Marcusson

DD2 podium (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)

DD2 Masters
1 Danny Wright
2 Troy Bretherton
3 Terry Hanly


DD2 Masters podium (pic – Mark Wicks, KartSportNews)