Agland Wins The Agland Memorial

Nick Agland has taken out an emotional win in Retro Karting Australia’s Tony Agland Memorial meeting at Dubbo on the weekend.

Agland was P2 to Steven Riddell in qualifying, then took fastest lap in the timed Shootout. He shared the heat wins with Reif Corbett before Bradley Cady took out the 12-lap pre-final. But come the Final, Agland was the man on a mission.

RKA Round 2 at Dubbo (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

“Agland and Cady went toe-to-toe, there was nothing in it” Simon Dartell reported to KartSportNews.

“Reif Corbett was biting their heels but just didn’t have the answer. Agland just had the edge, leading the final to bring the fairy-tale home to win his Dad’s Memorial trophy. There wasn’t a dry eye in the house at the end.”

Nick Agland leads Bradley Cady, Reiff Corbett, Steven Riddell and Paul Kendall in F100 Light at Dubbo (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

In F100 Heavy, Glenn Riddell was untouchable, heading the results from qualifying through to winning the 15-lap final. Interestingly, he and Matt Wall (who finished second) both claimed fastest lap in the final, setting identical times, 49.431s.

It was a bit of a similar story in F100 Light; despite the variations and combinations of equipment being used, six drivers posted times in the 49.0s.

“Perfect blue sky, six-degrees at 8am, then perfect weather everyday” Dartell added. “It was great clean racing all weekend. Friday was practice and the usual teething issues for some unfortunately. Saturday qualifying had the usual suspects up the pointy end. The first two heats were held on Saturday so we could have an early Sunday finish for those who had to travel interstate.”

Glenn Riddell leads Anthony Sutej, Aaron Jackson, Ryan Aitken and Samuel Lowe in F100 Heavy at Dubbo (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

Troy Hunt, a former National Champion and international competitor with this type of F100 equipment, offered the following on social media: “Great stuff. I love seeing this stuff – different engines, different carburettors, different exhaust, different exhaust length and nobody complaining about parity. Wish I had time to come and have a drive.”

Next RKA Championship event is the South Australian Title at Mr Gambier on July 2-3.

Clubman Light winner Christopher Sandrone (pic – Nic Pic NSW)
  • full results on speedhive HERE

F100 Light (RKA)
1 Nick Agland
2 Bradley Cady
3 Reif Corbett
4 Steven Riddell
5 Martin Wasley


Nick Agland (left) and Chris Sandrone (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

F100 Heavy (RKA)
1 Glenn Riddell
2 Matthew Wall
3 Ryan Aitken
4 Anthony O’Brien
5 Aaron Jackson

Wallie leads Jackson, Aitken, Sutej and Adam Lawson in F100 Heavy (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

Clubman Light (RKA)
1 Christopher Sandrone
2 Michael Riley
3 Paul Hamilton

Michael Riley (77) and Chris Sandrone going at it in Clubman Light!

Clubman Heavy (RKA)
1 Leigh Cocker
2 Anthony O’Brien
3 Rudy Farkas

Clubman Heavy winner Leigh Cocker leads Anthony O’Brien (32) and Rudy Farkas (8) (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

Clubman Super Heavy (RKA)
1 Aaron Jackson
2 Kurtis Dickson
3 Craig Butt

Clubman Super Heavy winner, Aaron Jackson (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

The meeting was also a round of the Dubbo club’s 2022 Championship. Major placings below.

Senior Performance
1 Will Jones
2 Jeffery Richards
3 Connor Richards

1 Jaxon Barrington
2 Cooper Fysh
3 Luka Ilic

4SS Senior Light
1 Dorian Abel
2 Matthew Connolly
3 Jenna Cusack

Rookies & Novices (pic – Nic Pic NSW)

4SS Senior Medium
1 Frank Cross
2 Joseph Shanks
3 Quenten Jones

1 Luca Wasley
2 Tyler Koenig
3 Ayden Powyer

1 Jayde Wasley
2 Cristian Winner


Andrew Calvert, Monaco/Yamaha (pic – Nic Pic NSW)
Reif Corbett (pic – Nic Pic NSW)