ANZACs Represented in Academy Trophy

Australian Harry Arnett and Kiwi Lochiel Mcgregor will contest the annual one-make FIA Karting Academy Trophy for junior drivers, which commences at the Genk circuit in Belgium in May.

An FIA update and the entry list is below.

from FIA Karting

As in 2020 and 2021, the FIA Karting Academy Trophy has 51 participants from 50 countries on all five continents. The success of this unique formula designed to pit the world’s best hopefuls against each other on equal terms has not wavered over the years and there were many applications in 2022.

The FIA Karting Academy Trophy continues to attract young talent from all over the world who are attracted by a sporting confrontation where the talent of the participants takes precedence over the financial aspect and allows future Champions to be revealed. F1 drivers Charles Leclerc, Esteban Ocon and George Russell took part in the Academy Trophy in their youth, as did FIA Karting Champions Marijn Kremers and Callum Bradshaw more recently. The sporting value of the FIA Karting Academy Trophy is well established.


The young drivers, aged 12 to 14, represent their countries in one-design karts drawn at random, OTK chassis with Vortex engines from the OK-Junior class, equipped with LeCont tyres. The trophy is based on the knowledge and reliability of OTK Kart Group, which won the tender for the supply of chassis and engines for 2022, 2023 and 2024 for the third time in a row after six successful seasons.

OMP (Racing Force) is the sole supplier of the drivers’ suits for the FIA Karting Academy Trophy, as well as the clothing for their mechanics.

The entry list for the 2022 edition includes 51 drivers, including three females. Chiara Bättig from Switzerland will drive in the colours of the FIA Women in Motorsport Commission.

The FIA Karting Academy Trophy will visit three European countries this season: Belgium and Italy at the same time as the FIA Karting European Championships – KZ and KZ2, while the conclusion will take place in France on the prestigious Le Mans circuit on the occasion of the FIA Karting World Championship – KZ.


Entry List