Karting Kids Coach The Celebrities

from karting.net.au

Thirteen young Karting Australia licence holders turned from Drivers to Driver Coaches as a part of the 2020 Formula 1 Rolex Formula 1 Grand Prix Celebrity Challenge in Melbourne on Saturday.

Nathan Buckley leads into turn 1 (pic – Pace Images)

The celebrity drivers took to the Port Melbourne International Karting circuit aboard identical Arrow X5 karts powered by Torini Clubmaxx engines prepared by DPE Kart Technology for the event. Each of the karting youngsters was paired with a celebrity driver while representing affiliated Clubs from across Victoria.

Tim Robards won the 12-lap final (pic – Pace Images)

Guided by the Go-Kart Club of Victoria’s James Anagostiadis, former The Bachelor and Neighbours actor Tom Robards showed the field how it was done in the main event.  After starting the race on the front row alongside Collingwood AFL Coach Nathan Buckley, Robards moved past the early pacesetter of the day on lap three of the main event before taking a comprehensive victory.

The celebrities and their young karting coaches (pic – Pace Images)

Former professional tennis player Mark Philippoussis, who was paired with Swan Hill Kart Club’s Seth Sutton, was the hard-charger of the race.  After enduring a spin in qualifying, Philippoussis started from near the rear of the field before securing the runner-up placing.


Mark Philippoussis finished second (pic – Pace Images)

Third place went to Celebrity chef Shane Delia, paired with Wimmera Kart Club’s Nathan Emmins, after fending off the challenges from Australian Grand Prix Corporation CEO Andrew Westacott and North Melbourne AFL Legend Glenn Archer.

The event kicks off the countdown towards the opening Formula 1 event in the 2020 World Championship that will be held at the Albert Park circuit on March 12-15.

Driver briefing (pic – Pace Images)

2020 Formula 1 Rolex Australian Grand Prix
Celebrity Karting Challenge

1. Tim Robards (James Anagostiadis – Go-Kart Club of Victoria)
2. Mark Philippoussis (Seth Sutton – Swan Hill Kart Club)
3. Shane Delia (Nathan Emmins – Wimmera Kart Club)
4. Andrew Westacott (Domenic Kunica – Ballarat Kart Club)
5. Glenn Archer (Mathew Basso – Oakleigh Go-Kart Racing Club)
6. Brooke Meredith (Joanne Ciconte – Oakleigh Go-Kart Racing Club)
7. Adam D’Sylva (Harry Arnett – Bendigo Kart Club)
8. Brodie Harper (Miley Miller – Go-Kart Club of Victoria)
9. Brit Selwood (Emily Blain – Warrnambool Kart Club)
10. Jackie Epstein (Cedah Opie – Goulburn Valley Kart Club)
11. Steve Price (Ryan Wyhoon – Gippsland Kart Club)
12. Jo Hall (Jack Jenkins – Eastern Lions Kart Club)
13. Nathan Buckley (Rusty Ponting – South West Kart Club)


  • full results on speedhive HERE
  • more photos on Karting Australia Facebook HERE
1st place. Tim Robards with coach James Anagostiadis (pic – Pace Images)
(pic – Pace Images)
(pic – Pace Images)
(pic – Pace Images)
(pic – Pace Images)
(pic – Pace Images)