Video: The Aussie World Rotax Winners

In celebrating the 20th anniversary Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals, Rotax has been in touch with a bunch of past winners – including the six Australians who have taken class wins at the event.

Rotax’s own Darrell Smith won MAX Masters in 2001:

Did you know the guy who runs KartSportNews raced the Rotax Worlds? Mark Wicks won MAX Masters in 2003:

Then, in 2006, Tasmanian Ben George won the DD2 world title:


While Australia scored plenty of podiums over the next 11 years, plus lots of success in the Nations Cup, there were no more wins until Lee Mitchener took out DD2 Masters in 2016:

Then, in 2017, Australians won two classes. Troy Woolston won DD2 Masters:

And Cody Gillis took out the DD2 title:

Can Australia grab its 7th Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Final win this year?