Brothers Keep NZ Schools’ Title In The Family

Two sets of brothers, Fynn and Clay Osborne from Hamilton, and Sebastian and Marco Manson from Auckland, kept the major titles in the family at this year’s KartSport New Zealand National Schools’ Championships meeting in Wellington on Saturday.

Brothers Clay (left) and Fynn Osborne (right) claimed the KartSport NZ 2019 Freeway Engineering National Schools’ Championships Secondary Schools title for Cambridge’s St Peter’s School in Wellington on Saturday (pic – KSW/Olivia Melhop)

Fynn and Clay Osborne won the Secondary Schools’ title for the college they attend, St Peter’s School in Cambridge, while Sebastian and Marco Manson won the Primary/Intermediate title for Auckland’s St Kentigern School.

By winning his class – Rotax Max Junior – the younger of the two Osborne siblings, Clay also claimed one of the two Bruce McLaren KartSport Awards. The other went to the winner of the Vortex ROK DVS Junior class, Liam Sceats from Auckland.

The Primary/Intermediate title was also won by two brothers, St Kentigern, Auckland siblings Marco (left) and Sebastian Manson (right) (pic – KSW/Olivia Melhop)

These prestigious awards, named after the Kiwi motorsport icon, are given to the winners of the two largest classes at the event. Bruce McLaren’s sister Jan was on hand to present the awards on behalf of the Bruce McLaren Heritage Centre and the two winners received places in a 2020 KartSport New Zealand coaching clinic and pieces of McLaren merchandise thanks to Giltrap Group.

This year’s was the 17th annual event, and was hosted by the KartSport Wellington club in conjunction with Hutt International Boys School at the club’s track, George Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Raceway at Kaitoke in Upper Hutt.

By winning their respective classes Clay Osborne and Liam Sceats (pictured) also won Bruce McLaren KartSport Awards presented by the late Bruce McLaren’s sister Jan McLaren (pic – KSW/Olivia Melhop)

Always one of the most popular and well supported ‘National’ events on the sport’s calendar, it attracted 76 entries across five different classes representing schools from Whangarei in the north to Invercargill in the south.

Class winners at the meeting were;

  • 125cc Rotax Max Light – Ryan Wood
  • 125cc Rotax Max Junior – Clay Osborne
  • Vortex ROK DVS Junior – Liam Sceats
  • Vortex Mini ROK – Emerson Vincent
  • Cadet ROK – Arthur Broughan

The Secondary Schools’ title is a first for St Peter’s School, the Cambridge Yr 7-13 College which now joins six-time winner Palmerston North Boys High School and eight other schools on the KartSport New Zealand’s Secondary Schools’ honours board.


Earning his fifth NZ Schools’ class title with a win in 125cc Rotax Max Light was local ace Ryan Wood (pic – Fast Company/Danny Wood)

This year’s win in the Primary/Intermediate section was the second, however, for St Kentigern School, the first shared with Christchurch’s Russley School back in 2006.

In terms of individual class wins Wellington-based international Ryan Wood extended his event run, meanwhile, to five NZ Schools’ titles, with his win in the 125cc Rotax Max Light class.

Emerson Vincent won Vortex Mini ROK (pic – Fast Company/Danny Wood)



2003 Rangitoto College, Auckland
2004 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2005 Palmerston North Boys’ High, Palmerston North
2006 Waimea College, Nelson
2007 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2008 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2009 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2010 Palmerston North Boys’ High, Palmerston North
2011 Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
2012 Palmerston North Boys’ High, Palmerston North
2013 Burnside High School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Boys’ High School, Palmerston North
2015 St Thomas of Canterbury College, Christchurch
2016 Palmerston North Boys’ High School, Palmerston North
2017 Palmerston North Boys’ High School, Palmerston North
2018 Westlake Boys High School, Auckland
2019 St Peters School, Cambridge


2003 Rangeview Intermediate, Auckland
2004 Waimea Intermediate, Nelson
2005 Marina View School, Auckland
2006 Russley Primary, Christchurch & St Kentigern Intermediate, Auckland
2007 Albany Primary, Auckland
2008 Waikari School and Kaikorai Valley College, Dunedin
2009 Newbury School, Palmerston North
2010 Taradale Intermediate, Napier
2011 Windsor Primary/Chisnell Wood Intermediate, Christchurch
2012 College Street Normal School, Palmerston North
2013 Medbury School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate/Newbury Primary School, Palmerston North
2015 Balmacewen Intermediate, Dunedin
2016 Palmerston North Normal Intermediate, Palmerston North
2017 Te Mata School/Havelock North Intermediate, Havelock North
2018 Palmerston North Intermediate Normal School/Winchester Primary School, Palmerston North
2019 St Kentigern School, Auckland

Arthur Broughan (#SI), 1st in Cadet ROK (pic – Fast Company/Danny Wood)

Bruce McLaren Awards

  • Clay Osborne, Hamilton, Rotax Max Junior
  • Liam Sceats Auckland Vortex ROK DVS Jnr

2019 Class top 6

125cc Rotax Max Light

  1. Ryan Wood; 2. William Exton; 3. Jackson Rooney; 4. Fynn Osborne; 5. Ashton Grant; 6. Kohen Muir Thomson.

Rotax Max Junior

  1. Clay Osborne; 2. Liam Sceats; 3. Jacob Douglas; 4. Zac Christensen; 5. Riley Spargo; 6. Alex Patrick.

Vortex ROK DVS Jnr

  1. Liam Sceats; 2. Nathan Crang; 3. James van den Berk; 4. Ben Stewart; 5. Jacob Douglas; 6. Leo Scott.

Vortex Mini ROK

  1. Emerson Vincent; 2. Alex Crosbie; 3. Sebastian Manson; 4. Hayden Lines; 5. Blake Corin; 6. Judd Christiansen.

Cadet ROK


  1. Arthur Broughan; 2. Zach Tucker; 3. Marco Manson; 4. Maxim Kirwan; 5. Miles Baker; 6. Logan Dowdal