Qualifying Done at WSK Euro Rnd 2

Sauber Karting’s Dexter Patterson and Ricky Flynn Motorsport’s Thomas ten Brinke have qualified fastest in the OK classes at the second round of the WSK Euro series at Angerville, France.

Dexter Patterson (pic – Press.net Images)

Three Australians are contesting the OK-Junior class which has 31 entrants. James Wharton (FA Kart/Vortex) was the best placed in 11th, 0.24s off pole. Christian Mansell (Exprit/Vortex) was 28th and Marcos Flack (Energy/TM) 30th.

In the Mini class (44 entrants), Peter Bouzinelous (Parolin/TM) was 20th and Griffin Peebles (Parolin/TM) 25th.

  • full results HERE
  • live stream (Sunday) and timing HERE
Ricky Flynn Motorsport’s Thomas ten Brinke, fastest in OKJ (pic – Press.net Images)

WSK press


Green lights in Angerville on the new WSK challenge

The second round of WSK Euro Series is underway at the circuit of Angerville (France) with drivers of categories OK, OK Junior and 60 Mini on track. The circuit is quite challenging and weather is mixed, drivers and engineers have therefore to challenge each other on temperatures that are not spring-like yet, despite the sun shining until the end of qualifying today. This weekend is going to be quite important for the provisional classifications as it marks the second step in the increasing points scoring system. The drivers on top after the opener in Sarno (SA) one month ago, will see their lead challenged in the closing races to be held on Sunday, April 28th on the Gabriel Thirouin circuit.

Fastest 60 Mini, Francesco Marenghi on Tony Kart (pic – Press.net Images)

Qualifying results

In OK the Brit Dexter Patterson posted the quickest time in 49”238s, which was 0.054s clear of Lorenzo Travisanutto’s time and just over a tenth of the lap time put in by Taylor Barnard (all on KR-Iame-Bridgestone). Classification leader from Sweden Dino Beganovic (Tony Kart-Vortex-Bridgestone) went fourth quickest.

Gaps are quite small in OK Junior too: the Dutch karting driver Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart-Vortex-Vega) was the fastest in 50”832s, while the Brit Jamie Day (Exprit-Vortex) was 0.09s shy of him, but led Singapore’s Christian HO (FA Kart-Vortex) by 0.013s. The Russian classification leader Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) was fifth fastest in 50”969s.

In 60 Mini the Italian Francesco Marenghi (Tony Kart-TM-Vega) completed his best loop after 56”088s leading the Swede Joel Bergstrom (Parolin-TM) and the French Guillaume Bouzar (Ipkarting-TM). Classification leader from Great Britain William Macintyre (Parolin-TM) had to settle for 12th instead.