Saturday Wrap: WSK Final Cup

James Wharton has enjoyed solid heat results and will start the OK-J ‘Pre-final A’ from grid 4. After qualifying 7th, the RFM driver carded 2-5-3-2 in the heats and is ranked 7th overall.

  • LIVE STREAM: Watch the pre-finals and finals from 8:50pm AEDT tonight (Sunday) HERE

above: Video – Saturday race wrap
official WSK press

Battles for the classification of WSK Final Cup.

Mutable weather changed conditions from dry to wet and required some further work from the mechanics under the tents at the Settelaghi Kart. The hunt for the victory in WSK Final Cup is quite challenging for the International Karting drivers that are on track in Castelletto di Branduzzo (PV) for the second round of the Series before the closer of Adria (RO) in two weeks time. Qualifying heats ended today, Prefinals and Finals will follow Sunday (night, Australian time).

Lorenzo Travisanutto works the chassis hard and leads OK (pic – Images)

Brando Badoer the driver to beat in 60 Mini.


Three wins in the 10 heats of 60 Mini handed Brando Badoer (Parolin-TM-Vega) a pole position start for Prefinal A. Alongside him, his closest rival: Jamaica’s Alex Powell (Energy-TM). Behind the two, the Russian Kirill Kutskov and the Dane Julius Dinesen (both on Parolin-TM) will share the second row of the grid. The pole of Prefinal B went to the Italian Cristian Bertuca, who pulled two wins and was one of the six different winners today. Alongside him, the British driver Coskun Irfan (both on Parolin-TM). The second row of the grid will be occupied by the Belgian Ean Eyckmans (Parolin-TM) and the Russian German Foteev (Energy-TM).

Brando Badoer head of the pack, 60Mini (pic – Images)

Kirill Smal leads the pack in OK Junior.

The Russian Kirill Smal (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) was the quickest of the six winners of the 10 races of OKJ today. He won three races and currently leads the pack after the heats. Smal will, therefore, start Prefinal A from the pole position with the Dutch Dilano Vant Hoff (Exprit-TM) set to start next to him. The second row will be occupied by the British driver Taylor Barnard (KR-Parilla) and the Australian James Wharton (FA-Vortex). Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR-Parilla) also had a good day. He ended heats behind Smal with one win and will start Prefinal B from the pole position. Alongside him, another favourite to the final win: Gabriele Minì (Parolin-TM), who won twice today, while the Brit Kai Askey (FA-Vortex) and Federico Cecchi (Tony Kart-TM) will get away from the second row of the grid.

Smal, OKJ (pic – Images)

Adrien Renaudin pulling away in KZ2.

After claiming the pole position yesterday, Adrien Renaudin (SodiKart-TM-Bridgestone) won both his heats today claiming a pole position start in tomorrow’s Prefinal. The Dutch driver Dylan Davies (DR-Modena) will start next to him, while the Swiss Cyril Ratl (CRG-TM) and the French Emilien Denner (KalìKart-TM) will start from the second row of the grid thanks to the good placings secured today.

Renaudin, KZ2 (pic – Images)

Lorenzo Travisanutto still the quickest in OK.

Lorenzo Travisanutto (KR-Parilla-Bridgestone) had a virtually clean run to the lead of the OK classification after the heats. He claimed two wins and will start Prefinal A from the pole position. The Dutch driver Kas Haverkort (CRG-TM) will start from the second spot of the grid thanks to one win. Behind them, the Hungarian driver Bence Kovacs (Praga-Vortex) and the Swede Viktor Gustafsson (Kosmic-Vortex). The front row of Prefinal B will be occupied by the Dane Nicklas Nielsen (Praga-Vortex) and by the Brit Harry Thompson (FA Kart-Vortex), who secured one win each in the heats. The Swiss Leandro Anderruti and the German Alexander Tauscher (both on KR-Parilla) will start from the second row of the grid.


OK heat start (pic – Images)