Agius & Jin Create History In Today’s AKC Heats


  • Live Stream of Sunday’s action commences 8:30am HERE
  • Official AKC photos by Coopers Photography HERE
  • more photos by Pace Images HERE


Taylah Agius became the first female racer to win a heat race in the SP Tools Australian Kart Championship, presented by Castrol EDGE, while Jaiden Jin became the first driver from Singapore to win a heat race in a frenetic day of action at Albury-Wodonga to get round two of the National Championship underway.

Taylah Agius (pic – Coopers Photography)

Agius in the Boost Mobile JC Kart – who leads the new for 2018 Ladies Championship – took the second heat race win this afternoon in the KA1 category.

She got the best of the start and quickly opened a lead and wasn’t headed in the run to the flag despite the best efforts of Broc Feeney and defending Australian Champion, Scott Sorensen.

Jin – who has been a regular visitor to Australia now for a number of seasons – is running two classes this weekend and experienced success in different ways. This morning he established his first pole position in KA1 (the class in which Agius specialises), then this afternoon, took his first ever heat race win in the X30 category.

With changeable weather conditions, his mechanic – multiple Australian Champion Jason Burns – made the right call on tyres and the Singaporean youngster found himself on the right rubber at the right time and while others were struggling with the conditions he assumed the race lead and then wasn’t headed.

It was a joyous young Jin that crossed the line in first place earning his maiden heat race win in Australia and becoming the first driver from Singapore to achieve the feat in the SP Tools Australian Championship. Jace Matthews and Cody Gillis bookended the Asian driver’s achievement.


Jaiden Jin (pic – Coopers Photography)

Reigning Australian KZ2 Champion, Joshua Fife had a successful return home. The Italy-based Canberran set the pole time and took two comfortable victories in the class that is approaching 150km/h at the fastest point on the circuit.

Former KA3 Senior National Champion, Matthew McLean has unofficially assumed the lead in that Championship after taking all three heat races today.

TaG 125 National Champion, Brendan Nelson is at the head of his class once again and is well on the way towards another big swag of points, however Jordan Nicolaou mastered conditions in the third heat to spring a win.

In KA2, Kai Allen took his first heat race wins aboard his Corsa Kart, while James Wharton on debut in the category took out the third heat this afternoon.

First round winner Rhys Smith has got his KA4 Junior campaign off to a strong start with two heat race wins, the day started with James Wharton taking the opening heat race.

Lewis Francis, Peter Bouzinelos and Max Walton among others are trading blows in Cadet 9 with any number of drivers in with a shot of victory come finals tomorrow.

Cadel Ambrose has taken two group stage wins in the oversubscribed Cadet 12 with Aussie international Marcos Flack and Championship leader coming into this weekend James Piszcyk also taking wins in the four races.

Tomorrow’s racing will begin with the final two heat races from round three for KA1 and KZ2 before the fourth round of heats and the finals.

Entry to the SP Tools Australian Kart Championship, presented by Castrol EDGE is free of charge. The Albury-Wodonga facility is on Sheathers Road, Wodonga.

Livestreaming of the day’s action will begin at 8:30am Australian Eastern Standard time.


Sunday Timetable

08:00 8:12 Heat 3 KA1 12 laps
08:15 8:27 Heat 3 KZ2 12 laps
08:30 8:40 Heat 5 Cadet 12 – B vs C 10 laps
08:43 8:59 Heat 4 KA3 Senior 16 laps
09:02 9:15 Heat 4 Cadet 9 13 laps
09:18 9:34 Heat 4 TaG 125 16 laps
09:37 9:50 Heat 4 KA4 Junior 13 laps
09:53 10:03 Heat 6 Cadet 12 – A vs B 10 laps
10:06 10:18 Heat 4 X30 12 laps
10:21 10:37 Heat 4 KA2 16 laps
10:40 10:56 Heat 4 KA1 16 laps
10:59 11:15 Heat 4 KZ2 16 laps
11:18 11:38 Final KA3 Senior 20 laps
11:41 11:57 Final Cadet 9 16 laps
12:00 12:20 Final TaG 125 20 laps
12:23 12:39 Final KA4 Junior 16 laps
12:42 12:58 Final Cadet 12 16 laps
13:01 13:21 Final X30 20 laps
13:24 13:44 Final KA2 20 laps
13:47 14:07 Final KA1 20 laps
14:10 14:35 Final KZ2 25 laps
15:00 Presentations