Enzo’s Big Win Honours His Dad’s Late Friend & Rival

Edition number 29 of the Andrea Margutti Trophy, race organized by Parma Motorsport at the South Garda Karting circuit in Lonato will be remembered for the high number of drivers on track, a good 252 drivers entered, and for weather conditions that switched from springy to winterly and an unceasing rain that challenged organizers and drivers.

This has been a moment to remember also for Jarno Trulli, who at the edge of the ‘90s was competing in karting alongside his friend Andrea Margutti, until the passing of the unlucky driver from Rome in 1989, to whom this event is now dedicated.

Enzo Trulli wins OK Junior (pic – FM Press)

In this 29th edition, Jarno Trulli had the chance to cheer again due to the great win secured by his son Enzo, who won OK-Junior taking his maiden win in an international race. This has been the best possible way to celebrate this event for the two families Trulli and Margutti, in the usual presence of Andrea’s mum Patrizia.

Alongside Enzo Trulli, who secured a great victory in OK-Junior on the works CRG-Tm-Vega run by CRG Racing team, the other winners of this very wet 29th edition of the Andrea Margutti Trophy were Andrea Rosso in OK, also on CRG-Tm-Vega run by CRG Racing Team, who was at his second win after last year’s in OK-Junior, and Alessio Lorandi, who won KZ2 on Parolin-Tm-Vega, writing his name on the Hall of Fame of the Andrea Margutti Trophy for the third time after the wins of 2010 in 60 Mini and that of 2014 in KF. The British Coskun Irfan won 60 Mini with team Baby Race on Parolin-Tm-Vega, while Marco Moretti has been victorious in X30 Senior on Tony Kart-Iame-Komet.

Enzo’s F1 dad, Jarno Trulli, with Andrea’s mum Patrizia (pic – FM Press)

Enzo Trulli managed to have the best of his team mate at CRG Gabriel Bortoleto in OK-Junior, as the latter had to settle for P2 after dominating qualifying and heats. The third place went to the Dane Hojgaard Petersen on Kosmic-Vortex-Vega, following a 3s time penalty handed to Alfio Spina, also CRG driver, who was pushed down from third to P5, as he lost his place also to the Russian driver Alexey Brizhan (Parolin-Tm-Vega).


Andrea Rosso dominated the OK Final on CRG-Tm-Vega, building a good margin on the German Marius Zug (KR-Parilla-Vega) and the Dane Mads Hansen (FA Kart-Parilla-Vega), who inherited P3 from the British driver Fin Kenneally (Parolin-Tm-Vega), as the latter was given a 3s time penalty. The fifth place went to the German Phil Doerr (KR-Parilla-Vega).

OK winner Andrea Rosso (pic – FM Press)

GP3 driver Alessio Lorandi, back to karting for the occasion, has been uncatchable in KZ2. Lorandi dominated the Final on Team Baby Race’s Parolin-Tm-Vega, having the upper hand on the early protagonists of the weekend: Fabian Federer (CRG-Tm-Vega), who eventually won an hard-fought battle for P2 with team mate from Sweden Benjamin Tornqvist and the German Alexander Schmitz (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega). The fifth place went to a great Massimo Dante on Maranello-Tm-Vega.

Alessio Lorandi, 1st in KZ2 (pic – FM Press)

Category 60 Mini produced a great spectacle on track, with a lot of foreign drivers dominating the scene. The victory went to the very young British driver Coskun Irfan on Parolin-Tm-Vega run by Team Baby Race. He led fellow country-man Arvid Lindblad on Parolin-Tm-Vega run by Team Driver. The Swede Joel Bergstrom (Ipk-Tm-Vega) was third and led the Austrian Kiano Blum (CRG-Tm-Vega) and the Dane Valdemar Aggerholm (Tony Kart-Tm-Vega).

Coskun Irfan wins Minikart (pic – FM Press)

The two brothers Moretti had the best of Danny Carenini in the Iame X30 Senior Trophy. The latter dominated qualifying stages, while last year’s winner Vittorio Maria Russo has been again among the protagonists of the Andrea Margutti Trophy this year. The victory went to Marco Moretti, who led his brother Andrea, while Russo was third, Gianluigi Palego fourth and Carenini fifth, all on Tony Kart-Iame-Komet.

x30 Senior podium (pic – FM Press)
Mini podium (pic – FM Press)
Marco Moretti wins X30 Senior (pic – FM Press)
OK Senior podium (pic – FM Press)
OK Junior podium (pic – FM Press)
KZ2 podium (pic – FM Press)