Gippsland’s September Race Day

A downpour for the start of practice meant a slippery track for the opening round of heats at the Gippsland Go Kart Club’s September club day on Sunday.

Six juniors fronted the starter. The only Light in the field, Bailey Collins, scooted away to big wins. Behind however, there was plenty of action for the Heavy podium, the Bright brothers eventually taking a one-two.

Harrison Ludlow heads the Cadet field through turn 1 at Morwell (pic – Steve Dansie)

In KA3 Senior, Christian Viggiano won the dampish opening heat (everyone on slicks) before Ben Chapman took out the remaining races. It was a similar story in Medium, Mark Wicks P1 in heat one, Ryan Aitken winning the rest.

Harrison Ludlow and Cody Boys were undefeated in Cadet 12 and Cadet 9 respectively. A half-dozen Cadets participated with another, we hear, due to start racing next month.

Only three TaG drivers this month, Curt Sera the only Light and Geoff Wyhoon winning Heavy.

Brendan Sarton (31) and Travis Warren (36) DNF heat 3 of TaG Restricted (pic – Steve Dansie)

Eight TaG Restricteds mixed it up this month and consistency was key as neither of the Final winners won the day. Layne Siekman won the Medium final, but Travis Chapman won the day, while in Light Joshua Haywood won the day despite Joshua Sarton winning more races.

Next club day is October 29, preceded by the club’s AGM in the clubrooms at 3pm the day prior.

KA4 Junior Light
1 Bailey Collins


KA4 Junior Heavy
1 Bodhi Bright
2 Zane Bright
3 Riley Fabke

KA3 Senior Light
1 Ben Chapman
2 Christian Viggiano

KA3 Senior Medium
1 Ryan Aitken
2 Mark Wicks
3 Grant Wicks

KA3 Medium, Ryan Aitken (92), sideways Grant Wicks and Mark Wicks (pic – Steve Dansie)

Cadet 12
1 Harrison Ludlow
2 Harrison Martin
3 Owen Pettigrew

Cadet 9
1 Cody Boys
2 Ryan Wyhoon

TaG Restricted Light
1 Joshua Hayward
2 Joshua Sarton
3 Robert Clark

Robert Clark ended the day 3rd in TaG R Light (pic – Steve Dansie)

TaG Restricted Medium
1 Travis Chapman
2 Layne Siekman
3 Brendan Sarton

TaG Light
1 Curt Sera

TaG Heavy
1 Geoff Wyhoon
2 Ryan Aitken


Brodie Sarton, Cadet 12(pic – Steve Dansie)
Joshua Haywood (11-P) would end up winning the day in TaG R Light (pic – Steve Dansie)
Daniel Riotto, TaG R Light (pic – Steve Dansie)
KA4 Junior Light winner Bodhi Bright (pic – Steve Dansie)
Ben Champman slides T1, KA3 Light (pic – Steve Dansie)
Bailey Collins leads the Juniors (pic – Steve Dansie)
Cadet grid, Harrison Martin (88), Ryan Wyhoon (49)(pic – Steve Dansie)
Cadet 9 winner Cody Boys (pic – Steve Dansie)
Joshua Sarton (55) won all the TaG R Light races, except for the one he DNFd(pic – Steve Dansie)
Layne Siekman (29), 2nd in TaG R Medium (pic – Steve Dansie)
TaG 125, Curt Sera leads Geoff Wyhoon and Ryan Aitken (pic – Steve Dansie)
New look kit for Team Higginson (pic – Steve Dansie)
Team Wyhoon (the Kart Whisperers??) (pic – Steve Dansie)
It’s not all about the track action (pic – Steve Dansie)
Heat 3 winner and 3rd on the day, Riley Jabke ahead of Zane Bright and Billy Bishop, KA4 Junior Heavy (pic – Steve Dansie)