Karting Australia Search For New National Technical Commissioner

Karting Australia is looking for a new National Technical Commissioner. Applications close August 25.

The following was published on the association’s website:



Mr Les Allen the current National Technical Commissioner has advised the Board that it is his intention to step down from this role at the end of the 2017 karting year.

Karting Australia now invites applications from suitably qualified persons to fill this voluntary role for 2018. While appointments are made for a 12 month period, it would be preferable if applicants took the view that this will be a multi-year position renewed annually.

CLICK HERE for the position description for the role.


Mr Allen also holds the position of Chief Scrutineer for the Australian Kart Championship. The role of the AKC Chief Scrutineer will change slightly in 2018 to allow for the separation of authority from the National Technical Commissioner and will be renamed “AKC Technical Delegate”. Mr Allen will remain in that position and will also provide a mentoring role for the new National Technical Commissioner so as to ensure a seamless transition.

It is expected that the successful applicant will work closely with the CEO, the Technical Director and with the AKC Technical Delegate.

This is a National role with Karting Australia and the successful applicant can be based anywhere in Australia.

It is expected that the successful applicant will have a strong understanding of the sport of karting and the technical elements of the sport.

They will be expected to officiate at major karting events from time to time and be able to build strong relationships with the State and Territory Technical inspectors so as to ensure consistency of interpretation of karting Australia’s technical rules and homologations.

Applications setting our your relevant experience, personal and technical qualifications for the role should be made in writing, marked confidential and sent to admin@karting.net.au by no later than 25 August 2017.