NZ Goldstar Winners To Celebrate After Championship Meeting

Karters from throughout the country will be in Palmerston North this weekend celebrating the success of the recently completed Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series at the linked, but standalone ‘Championships’ meeting.

The standalone WPKA Championships meeting has been a feature of the WPKA’s event calendar for as long as any of the current organising committee can remember and WPKA President Chris Rooney says that it is the perfect prelude to the annual Goldstar series’ prize giving on Sunday night.

Goldstar class winner Jackson Rooney (#30) seen here leading Riley Jack (#31) and William Exton (#42) in a Junior Rotax Max heat
Goldstar class winner Jackson Rooney (#30) seen here leading Riley Jack (#31) and William Exton (#42) in a Junior Rotax Max heat (pic – Fast Company/Vicky Jack)

“It’s a chance to celebrate our series’ winners and the successes of each and every driver the best way possible – by getting together for one last race meeting during the day and a special series and championship meeting prize giving that night.”

For the first time in the meeting’s long history action on the track will be live-streamed over the internet via

Also, as well as the series and spot prizes, ORG’s Jason Anderson and Stilo importer Neil Allport Motorsport have put up extra sets of racing overalls and helmets to be won on the night.

Braden Parsons (#9), ClubSport 120
Braden Parsons (#9), ClubSport 120 (pic – Fast Company/Vicky Jack)

Though some of the top South Island drivers who have contested the Goldstar Series this season will be contesting the annual two-day Sunbelts meeting in Nelson and Blenheim over the weekend, strong entries from the WPKA Series’ traditional catchment areas of the Manawatu, Taranaki, Hawke’s Bay and Wellington plus those from further north have assured full grids across all classes.

Chris Rooney says he is particularly pleased with the interest from club level Senior racers with up to 20 ClubSport 120 and Briggs and Stratton 4-stroke-engined LO206 class karts expected on the grid, a record for these budget/grassroots focused classes.

There will be action track from 9.00am at the Championship meeting at Manawatu Toyota Raceway on Sunday. And spectators are welcome.


Emerson Vincent leads Thomas Bewley (#4) in a Cadet ROK class race
Emerson Vincent leads Thomas Bewley (#4) in a Cadet ROK class race (pic – Fast Company/Vicky Jack)

2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series
Final series points

1. Jacob Cranston 174 points; 2. Brendon Jury 173; 3. Michael Jury 161; 4. Ashley Higgins 159; 5. Quin Clark 112; 6. Clint Beaumont 110.


Rotax Max Light
1. Campbell Jamieson 172 points; 2. John Wallace 172; 3. James Higgins 165; 4. Ashton Baird 160; 5. Scott Manson 117; 6. Logan Boyde 58

ClubSport 120
1. Braden Parsons 178 points; 2. Brent Hickmott 168; 3. Stuart Frew 163; 4. Roger Pepperell 113; 5. Richard Krogh 109; 6. David Hammond 108

Rotax Max Junior
1. Jackson Rooney 178 points; 2. William Exton 172; 3. Riley Jack 169; 4. Zac Stichbury 168; 5. Ronan Murphy 165; 6. Jackson Whitfield 160

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Liam Sceats 176 points; 2. Mason Potter 165; 3. Asten Addy 163; 4.Logan Manson 163; 5. Jenson Bate 161; 6. Ben Stewart 155

Cadet ROK
1. Louis Sharp 177 points; 2. Emerson Vincent 174; 3. Tom Bewley 171; 4. Judd Christianson 165; 5. Kiahn Burt 162; 6. Ollie Workman 161

Louis Sharp (#SI) Cadet ROK (pic - Fast Company/Vicky Jack)
Louis Sharp (#SI) has taken out Cadet ROK (pic – Fast Company/Vicky Jack)

GP Series points

Senior GP
1. Jacob Cranston 145 points; 2. Brendon Jury 140; 3. Ahsley Higgins 125; 4. Camphell Jamieson 125; 5. Braden Parsons 112; 6. Clint Beaumont

Rotax Max Junior GP
1. Jackson Rooney 148 points; 2. William Exton 143; 3. Zac Stichbury 140; 4. Jakson Whitfield130; 5. Ronan Murphy 128; 6. Dylan Anderson

Vortex Mini ROK GP
1. Liam Sceats 139 points; 2. Jenson Bate 135; 3. Logan Manson 134; 4. Logan Smith 132; 5. Ben Stewart 126; 6. Mason Potter 125

Cadet ROK GP
1. Emerson Vincent 147 points; 2. Louis Sharp 142; 3. Tom Bewley 140; 4. Kiahn Burt 137; 5. Ollie Workman 132; 6. Judd Christianson

2016/17 Manawatu & TRC Toyota WPKA Goldstar Series
Rnd 1 Nov 20 2016 Todd Energy Raceway Waitara Taranaki
Rnd 2 March 05 2017 George Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Raceway Kaitoke Wellington
Rnd 3 May 07 2017 Chemz Raceway Roy’s Hill Hastings Hawke’s Bay
WPKA Championships June 04 2017 Manawatu Toyota Raceway Palmerston North Manawatu