Queensland Superkart Series, Round 2

from Timothy Weier

The 2017 Queensland Superkart Series rolled into Queensland Raceway for Round 2.  After a very wet Friday practice, competitors were greeted with a cool and damp track for qualifying which proved tricky to master with many spinning off into the soggy infield.

Russel Jamieson led the way despite suffering an engine failure that would see him sidelined for the rest of Saturday’s racing.  Next was Gareth Crisp followed by Tim Weier, both in the 250cc Nat class and Neil Faulkner in a 250cc Twin, who was coming racing for the first time.

Drivers' group photo for round 2
Drivers’ group photo for round 2

Leading the 125 gearbox was Lindsay Jamieson from 2016 Class champion Sam McFerran. 125 Rotax Light saw Peter Nuske continue to show how it’s done from Joe Gumina who is making rapid improvement in 2017.  Nicholas Marshall was there in his Rotax Heavy.  Scott Jamieson lead the way in the 85cc Gearbox class from Cameron Moxley and Keith Taylor.

Race 1:

With both Russel and Gareth sidelined with engine drama’s,  it was Tim and Neil who lead the field away for the start of Race 1, with Weier grabbing the early lead through turn 1 before Neil used the superior power of the DEA to blast past down the back straight.  Trading positions early on, made for some good racing before Tim backed off when Lachlan Crisp slowed with electrical problems.  Neil lead the field home from Tim, Steve Cloake and Lachlan Crisp.  Further back the battle for the lead of 125 GB was hotly contested when Lindsay Jamieson locked the rears into turn 4, unfortunately collecting Phil Silcock, escorting both off into the infield and damage to Phil’s rear axle would later require  some micro adjustments done via a sledge hammer to straighten it out. (but not in time to get him out for the next race).  Capitalising on this incident, Sam McFerran would go on to take a comfortable class win from William Tait with Jon Bothamely seizing on lap 6.  Peter Nuske showed why he was the 2016 Series Champion putting on another dominant show to lead home Joe Gumina and Alfonso Senose.

Faulkner leads Weier and Crisp
Faulkner leads Weier and Crisp

Race 2:

Getting a good start Weier lead Faulkner again into turn 1, this time Lachaln Crisp decided to get in on the action making it a 3-way fight for the lead.  Faulkner would spin through turn 4 on Lap 4 leaving just Weier and Crisp to fight it out.  These two were all over each other, making for some entertaining racing until Lachlan managed to make a pass stick and started to gap Tim before slowing with another electrical related engine miss.  This left Tim to collect the win while Lachlan limped home in 2nd Steve Cloake rounded out the top 3.  Home in 4th overall was Sam McFerran from Willaim Tait and Lindsay Jamieson in the 125 GB class.  Rotax Light saw Peter Nuske lead Joe Gumina home with Joe closing the gap from Race 1.  Rotax Heavy saw Nicholas Marshall take home the spoils, while in the 85cc Class Cameron Moxley took the win with Scott Jamieson a DNF and Keith Taylor a DNS.


Lachlan Crisp looking to pass Tim Weier
Lachlan Crisp looking to pass Tim Weier, 250 Nationals

Race 3:

As per race 2 it was a 3-way fight early on between Tim, Neil and Lachlan before Neil dropped back.  Nothing separated these 2 until Tim succumbed to his own electrical problems leaving Lachlan to collect the win from Neil and Sam Mcferran home in third.  Phil Silcock would claim 5th overall and 2nd in the 125 GB, William Tait would again put in a solid performance to collect third for 125GB.  125cc Rotax saw a constant theme appearing with Peter Nuske leading home Joe Gumina and Nic Marshall taking out Rotax heavy.  Scott Jamieson scored the win in the 85cc class from Cameron Moxley with Keith Taylor suffering a DNF.

Steve Cloake waiting to head out for Race 4
Steve Cloake, 250 International points leader, waiting to head out for Race 4

Race 4:

Russel Jamieson was back after Saturday’s engine drama’s blasting to an early lead and showing everyone what a top line 250 International is capable of.  Behind Russel the battle for 2nd was intensifying between Tim, Lachlan and Neil.  Tim, taking advantage of a squabble between Lachaln and Neil, passing them around the outside of 3 to move into the lead.  Pushing hard to stay in the lead Tim held off Lachlan for the next 3 laps until a mechanical issue resulted in a trip to pitlane for repairs, eventually finishing last two laps down.  Neil again spun at turn 4 leaving Lachlan to cruise home in 2nd from followed by the 125GB’s of Sam Mcferran and Jon Bothamely, with William Tait would hold off Phil Silcock for 3d in 125GB.  Rotax Light had Peter leading home Daniel Sciarretta with Joe a DNS and Nic Marshall in Rotax Heavy.  Scott Jamieson lead home Cam and Keith with another DNF for the 85’s.

Faulkner and Jamieson return to the pits after Race 4
250 Inters Faulkner and Jamieson return to the pits after Race 4

Race 5:

Russel Jamieson Leapt away from pole with Lachlan in pursuit from Tim and Neil. Tied on points heading into the last race setup what should have been an epic showdown between Tim and Lachlan for class and round honours, however locking the rears into turn 3 saw Lachlan spin off backwards into the gravel beaching himself there. Tim continued the fight with Neil for a few laps before cruising home for the class and overall victory.  Behind, Sam again lead home the 125GB’s but Jon Bothamely kept him honest with William Tait rounding out the podium.  Rotax Light saw Peter Nuske take a clean sweep for the weekend with Joe and Daniel finishing in 2nd and 3rd.  Nic Marshall took out Rotax Heavy and Cameron Moxley lead home the 85’s with Scott a DNF and Keith a DNS.

The series takes a short break before coming back to the paperclip on July 8-9th for Round 3.  There is strong Interstate Interest in this round as it precedes the 2nd Round of the National Championship in September.  If you would like to know more get in contact on Facebook (QLD Superkart) or see our website www.qldsuperkart.org

William Tait
William Tait, 125cc Gearbox
2017 Qld Superkart points after round 2
2017 Qld Superkart points after round 2