Victorian Champions Crowned

The 2023 Victorian Kart Champions have been crowned following a massive three-day race meeting at the Albury Wodonga Kart Club on the weekend.

  • full results are on speedhive HERE
  • photos by Tim Francis on the Karting Victoria facebook HERE
  • video on demand on mysportlive HERE (requires subscription)
(pic – Tim Francis/KV)


text summaries from Karting Victoria

TaG 125 Light
1 Zachary Heard
2 Brodie Whitmore
3 Zachary Thompson

National champion Zachary Heard would take pole position from defending Vic State champion Harrison Hoey. Heard, Toby Spinks, Zackary Thompson, Harrison Hoey, Angus Wallace were fighting it out at the front during the heats with Thompson taking victory in heat 3. In the final Heard would take the lead and then on lap 6 a red flag would be called for an incident involving Steve Riddell at turn 1. Upon the restart Heard went on to take victory by 2.5 seconds over Brodie Whitemore 2nd and Zackary Thompson in 3rd.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

Cadet 9
1 Koda Singh
2 Paige Flack
3 Jude Ammoun

Koda Singh was coming into the Vic State Championship with good form after taking victory at the recent Golden Power Series at the Eastern Lions Kart Club and would take pole by 1 tenth from Paige Flack. Jude Ammoun, Koda Singh, Alana Gurney, Oliver Williamson, Paige Flack and Jarvis Hindle were battling it out at the front during the heats and in the final Koda Singh would go on to take victory by 2 seconds from Paige Flack and Jude Ammoun 3rd.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

KA3 Junior Light
1 Max Walton
2 James Anagnostiadis
3 Oliver Wickham

In one of the tough luck stories of the weekend Pip Casabene would go on to claim pole win every heat and final and lead every lap, but in the final would miss the weigh-in by only the narrowest of margins, handing victory to Max Walton who was racing hard with James Anagnostiadis and Oliver Wickham for the remaining steps on the podium.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

X30 Light
1 Jace Matthews
2 Christian Estasy
3 Bradley Jenner

Jett Kocoski would take pole, but then Bradley Jenner would go on to win all heats and the final but would receive a 2 place relegation in the final for a drop down penalty which handed the victory to Jace Matthews with Christian Estasy in 2nd and Jenner 3rd.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

Cadet 12
1 Jackson Brasher
2 Archie Bristow
3 Corey Carson

Jackson Brasher would claim pole, win all heats and claim victory in the final and raced hard with Archie Bristow for much of the weekend with Liam Carr, Corey Carson and Anashe Manyau also racing close, in the final Brasher would take the win from Archie Bristow by less than a second with Corey Carson in 3rd.


(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

TaG 125 Heavy
1 Leigh Nicolau
2 Jackson Souslin-Harlow
3 Hayden Cox

In qualifying Liam Ford would take pole position from Troy Alger. Jackson Souslin-Harlow, Leigh Nicolaou, Liam Ford and Hayden Cox were racing for the lead in the heats but in the win defending champion Leigh Nicolaou would go on to take his 4th State Title taking the win from Jackson Souslin-Harlo 2nd and Hayden Cox 3rd.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

1 Max Walton
2 Dominic Penman
3 Toby Dvorak

Dominic Penman would take pole and at the font of the pack for much of the weekend would be Toby Dvorak, Max Walton and Mika Lemasurier. In the final Dvorak would lead the early running but while fighting for 2nd position had to run wide, Max Walton going on to take the win from Dominic Penman and Toby Dvorak 3rd.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

KA3 Senior Light
1 Jacob Dawson
2 Benito Montalbano
3 Keegan Fraser

Jacob Dowson would take pole and have a close battle with reigning champion Benito Montalbano for much of the weekend, with Keegan Fraser and Nicholas Trebilcock also in the mix, Dowson going on to win the final with Benito Montalbano 2nd and Keegan Fraser 3rd.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

Vic Combined Masters
1 Anthony Petherbridge
2 Tim Monte
3 Jason Domaschenz

Anthony Pethebridge made it 2 Vic State Championship wins in a row and dominated proceedings with Tim Monte, Clayton Groves and Jason Domaschenz fighting it out for the minor placings.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

KA3 Junior Heavy
1 Mathew Basso
2 Alexander Cirone
3 Amos Orr

Mathew Basso would take pole and go on to win all heats and the final, with Hugo Garraway, Alexander Cirone, Amos Orr and Charlotte Page also towards the front of the pack. Mathew Basso winning his first Victorian State Championship win by 2.2 seconds from Alexander Cirone 2nd and Amos Orr in 3rd.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)

KA3 Senior Medium
1 Matthew Waters
2 Benjamin Mouritz
3 Ryan Nicholson

Zach Findlay was faster qualifier and fought it out with Matthew Waters, Corey Arnett and Benjamin Mouritz for the front running. In the final Finlay would lose a chain and Matthew Waters would go on to claim victory over Benjamin Mouritz by 1.6 seconds and Ryan Nicholson taking the final step of the podium.

(pic – Tim Francis/KV)
After a dominant weekend, Brad Jenner crossed the line first in X30 but a penalty relegated him to 3rd. (pic – Tim Francis/KV)
Max Walton earned two blue plates in the Junior classes (pic – Tim Francis/KV)
National champ Zac Heard takes the win in TaG Light (pic – Tim Francis/KV)