Casper & Jaiden Win Rising Star Awards

by Jade Stone

The Southern Tasmanian Kart Club hosted its 16th annual Ian Harrington Memorial, Rising Stars event on Sunday the 5th of June with the event being sponsored by the Ian Harrington Group & Energy Corse Tasmania.

Just under 80 competitors representing all four Tasmanian clubs attended the Orielton circuit for a day that was extremely cold.

  • full results from the meeting are HERE

Cadet 9 was won by Hobart’s Logan Potter who went undefeated during racing after qualifying in second position. Second place went to Ethan Youd who managed to be fastest in qualifying but didn’t quite have the pace to trouble Potter during racing. Third place went to Launceston’s Harry Warmsley who gained enough points from his second place in the final to jump Ollie Garwood who registered a DNF.

Ben Marley (37) and Gemma Wyllie (34) lead the KA3 Senior Light field (pic – Angryman Photography)

Cadet 12 saw Jack Kalbfell take the overall victory after winning three of the four races. Second place went to Elenah Rankin who was the only driver to take a victory away from Kalbell. Third place went to Hobart local Levi Bush who ended the weekend with three second place finishes.

KA4 Junior Light saw Hobart pair Harrison Duske and Harry Bresnehan end the four races in a tie with both drivers taking two victories and two second each. In the end it was Bresnehan who won the countback by out qualifying Duske. Third place went to Samual Gorisch.

KA4 Junior Heavy saw a dominant performance by Angus Milne who won all four races to take the overall win. Cameron Jeffrey continued his string of podium placings by finishing in second place. Third place overall went to Jaiden Marshall who DNF’d the final race but had secured enough points in the heat races to remain on the podium.

Jonathan McDonald (76) on the way to victory in KA3 Senior Medium (pic – Angryman Photography)

KA4 Masters Final was won by former Tasmanian State Champion Andrew Walter who had to start the final in 5th place after suffering a DNF in heat 1. Daniel Willson finished in second place after leading the final midway through with James Bresnehan finishing in third.


TaG 125 Restricted Light was won by Hobarts Joel Clements who dethroned second place finisher Nigel Hildyard who was undefeated going into the final. Third place was taken out by Matty Mayne.

TaG 125 Restricted Medium saw a 1-2 finish for the Sheahen brothers Allan and Nigel. Allan took the win convincingly over Nigel with Luke Millar finishing in third place.

KA3 Senior Light was won by Gemma Wyllie who returned to the top step of the podium after finishing second only three weeks ago in Launceston. Second place went to Hobart local Philip Cowles and third place went to Kane Rider.

Casper Anderson, the Up-And-Coming-Rising-Star winner (pic – Angryman Photography)

KA3 Senior Medium was a Hobart trifecta, Jonathan McDonald was victorious in his first meeting out since the 2021 Archerville Classic in December. He was pushed all the way by runner up Evan Livingston with third place going to Riley Newick who made his way onto the podium after starting the final in sixth position.

The Up-and-Coming Rising Star was awarded to Casper Anderson and the Rising Star was awarded to Jaiden Marshall. Both of these drivers were judged to have shown determination and skill throughout their races but also showed great respect for the officials, pit crew and other drivers over the course of the race meeting.

Casper Anderson celebrates with his family (pic – Angryman Photography)

The next race meeting to be held will be on the KA3 Cup, Bec Wyatt Memorial on Sunday the 19th of June at the Launceston Kart Club. This will be the 26th Annual KA3 Event along with the second running of the Bec Wyatt Memorial.

Racing will return to Orielton for the second round of the Club Titles on June 26th then round three of the Tasmanian Statewide Series on July 23rd & 24th.