Calleja Top Ten at WSK Super Masters

William Calleja has had a fantastic start to the WSK Super Master Series, claiming tenth in the Mini Final at South Garda Karting, Lonato, on the weekend. Calleja qualified 23rd in the 90-kart field and kept punching in solid results to move forward throughout the event.

William Calleja in Italy

Lewis Francis was the only other Australian to make it into the Finals on Sunday.

A double penalty in his OK Junior pre-final dropped him to P28, but he had enough points to just scrape onto the last row of the grid for the Final. Despite another nose-cone penalty, he was classified 27th in the Final.

Lewis Francis (pic – LF/FB)

A DNF and an engine issued hampered Isaac McNeil’s effort in Juniors, though there seems to positivity for the next round. “The team has a lot of confidence that the next race will be better” McNeil posted on social media. “We will be back at the track here next Thursday and Friday with KR to do some testing so we can try and vastly improve our qualifying result for the next race.”

Bradley Majman and Dante Vinci both DNFd their pre-final and did not make the Finals.

Unfortunately, Henry Johnstone and Oscar Targett didn’t get through in KZ2 either, classified 41st and 42nd respectively after all the preliminary races.

Henry Johnstone aboard the Zanchi Motorsport BirelART.

Aussie Wrap

William Calleja (Mini) – Parolin Motorsport, Parolin/TM
Q – 23. Heats: 7, 6, 6, 3, 3. Ranking: 13. PreFinal: 5. Final: 10th from starting P13.

Bradley Majman (OKJ) – Shamick Europe (Parolin/TM)
Q – 44. Heats: 17, 13, 13, 14, 21. Ranking: 48. PreFinal: 28 (dnf). Final: DNQ

Isaac McNeil (OKJ) – KR Motorsport, Kart Republic/IAME
Q – 46. Heats: 14, 22 (dnf), 17, 19, 13. Ranking: 52. PreFinal: 19th. Final: DNQ

Dante Vinci (OKJ) – Shamick Europe, Parolin/TM
Q – 62. Heats: 19, 20, 20, 17, 17. Ranking: 59. PreFinal: 35th (dnf). Final: DNQ

Lewis Francis (OKJ) – Shamick Europe, Parolin/TM
Q – 19. Heats: 9, 9, 11, 13, 9. Ranking: 29. PreFinal: 28 (penalty). Final: 27th.

Oscar Targett (KZ2) – Birel ART Racing SRL, Birel ART/TM)
Q – 34. Heats: 17, 22, 24. Ranking: 43. PreFinal: 22. Final: DNQ

Henry Johnstone (KZ2) – Zanchi Motorsport, BirelART/TM
Q – 43. Heats: 21, 20, 20. Ranking: 42. PreFinal: 22. Final: DNQ

Griffin Peebles (OKJ) – Koski Motorsport, Tony Kart/Vortex
Withdrew before qualifying due to injury.

  • full results are HERE

WSK Press

The first round of the WSK Super Master Series ended with a good participation at the South Garda Karting circuit of Lonato. In the weekend of January 30th, a total of 265 drivers from 50 different countries contested the 4 categories KZ2, OK, OKJ and MINI.

The Prefinals

The high number of drivers required two Prefinals for each category.

OK. The Italian Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-LeCont) has been leading the weekend since the beginning and kept his momentum winning OK’s Prefinal-A, while Prefinal-B was won by the Finn Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex), who proceeded the Pole Gustaw Wisniewski (Forza Racing/Exprit-TM Racing) that completed a good recovery race.


Tony Kart team celebrating

MINI. The Czech Jindrich Pesl (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame-Vega) won Prefinal-A fending off the attacks of the Swiss Kilian Josseron (Team Driver/KR-Iame), while Prefinal-B ended with the sprint to the line won by the Spanish driver Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing).

KZ2. Prefinal-A of KZ2 was won by the German David Trefilov (Maranello SRP/Maranello-TM Racing-Vega), who already had the upper hand in qualifying practice and heats. Prefinal-B was dominated by the Dutch Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Racing).

OKJ. In OK-Junior the Dutch René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) did not have any problem to win Prefinal-A, while Prefinal-B saw the surprising recovery and victory of the Hungarian Adam Hideg (DPK Racing/KR-Iame) at the end of an exciting battle.

Rene Lammers, 1st OKJ (pic – Sportinphoto)

The  Finals

The Italian Luigi Coluccio rounded off the weekend taking a great victory in OK

OK was dominated by the Italian Luigi Coluccio (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex-LeCont), who led the Final from lights to flag. Behind Coluccio, the Brit Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn/LN-Vortex) proceeded the Pole Gustaw Wisniewski (Forza Racing/Exprit-TM Racing), who ended his recovery race on the podium. The Finn Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) has also been among the protagonists but had to settle for P4 leading his team mate from America, Luis James Egozi.

Luigi Colluccio, 1st OK (pic – Sportinphoto)

OK Final Classification:
1. Luigi Coluccio (ITA)
2. Freddie Slater (GBR)
3. Gustaw Wisniewski (POL)

OK podium (pic – Sportinphoto)

Victory to the Belgian Dries Van Langendonck in MINI

The final of MINI had a surprising end as the Belgian Dries Van Langendonck (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) managed to win the sprint to the line from the Czech Jindrich Pesl (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame) to the Spaniard Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing) that exchanged on the lead until the closing two laps. The fourth place went to the Italian Filippo Sala (Team Driver/KR-Iame), who has always been among the quickest, the fifth to the Czech Oliver Palocko (BabyRace/Parolin-Iame).

Dries van Langendonck, 1st Mini (pic – Sportinphoto)

MINI  Final Classification:
1. Dries Van Langendonck (BEL)
2. Jindrich Pesl (CZE)
3. Christian Costoya (ESP)

Mini podium (pic – Sportinphoto)

The Dutch Senna Van Walstijn takes another win in KZ2

The Dutch Senna Van Walstijn (Sodikart/Sodikart-TM Racing-Vega) eventually managed to win again repeating the victory claimed one week ago on the occasion of the WSK Champions Cup. Started from the top, Van Walstijn kept the lead for the whole race.

Senna van Walstun, 1st KZ2 (pic – Sportinphoto)

His most credited rival, the German David Trefilov (Maranello SRP/Maranello-TM Racing), was third as he was overtaken in the closing stages also by the excellent Spanish driver Pedro Hiltbrand (BirelART Racing/BirelArt-TM Racing), who recovered 11 places. The French Jeremy Iglesias (CRG Racing Team/CRG-TM Racing) ended fourth, while the Italian Giuseppe Palomba (BirelART Racing/BirelArt-TM Racing) was fifth.

KZ2 Final Classification:
1. Senna Van Walstijn (NLD)
2. Pedro Hiltbrand (ESP)
3. David Trefilov (DEU)

KZ2 podium (pic – Sportinphoto)

The Dutch René Lammers on the top step of the OKJ podium

The final of OK-Junior was dominated by the Dutch René Lammers (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing-Vega) from lights to the final lap or, more precisely, to the last corner, when Ukraine’s Oleksandr Bondarev (Rycky Flynn/LN-Vortex) attacked him and managed to cross the finish line on top. Bondarev lost his front fairing in the manoeuvre and therefore was handed a 5s time penalty that relegated him to the fourth place.

Rene Lammers, 1st OKJ (pic – Sportinphoto)

The first place went back to René Lammers, who celebrated on the top step of the podium. The other two podium positions went to the Russians Dmitry Matveev (Koski Motorsport/Tony Kart-Vortex) and Kirill Kutskov (BirelART Racing/BirelART-TM Racing). The fifth went to the Brazilian Miguel Costa (Sauber Academy/KR-Iame).

OKJ Final Classification:
1. René Lammers (NLD)
2. Dmitry Matveev (RUS)
3. Kirill Kutskov (RUS)

OKJ podium (pic – Sportinphoto)

The next round, again in Lonato, will be the second round of WSK Super Master Series on February, 10-13, 2022. The final two rounds of the series will then follow on March 6th in La Conca (Lecce) and March 13th in Sarno (Salerno).