New KA Board Appointments

KA press release

The Karting Australia Board has confirmed the appointment of two well credentialed new Directors to join the Board.

Highly respected motorsport administrator Michael Masi and commercial lawyer Melissa Holzberger have accepted appointments to join the Board effective January 1, 2023.

Michael Masi and Melissa Holzberger (pic – KA)

Mr Masi’s experience in motorsport is almost unsurpassed in Australia. He served as the Formula 1 World Championship Race Director from 2019 to 2021. Before heading to Europe in 2018 he was the Deputy Race Director for the Supercars Championship and Sporting Manager for Karting Australia. He has almost 30 years of experience in Motorsport Administration at all levels.

Since returning to Australia at the start of 2022, Michael has been appointed as the Independent Chair of the Supercars Commission and a Member of the South Australian Motorsport Board.

It is somewhat of a homecoming for Ms Holzberger, having previously been a Director from 2013 to 2017 before retiring in accordance with the Constitution. During her first term on the Karting Australia Board, Melissa held the position of Deputy Chair and Administration Director. She currently holds Non-Executive Directorships on several ASX-listed Boards.


“Michael’s experience in the world of motorsport in Australia and on a world, level is exceptional, and we’re delighted that he has decided to accept the invitation to join the Board. Melissa is well versed in the way in which Karting Australia operates and brings great business expertise and adds further experience to our already well credentialled Board of Directors,” said Karting Australia Chairman Kevin Davis.

“To have two more highly credentialled people like Michael and Melissa join our Board adds further strength, stability and experience for Karting Australia.”

Nathan Murray has advised Karting Australia that he will be stepping down from his position as Director at the end of December, due to business and family commitments.

“On behalf of my fellow Directors, Management and Staff, I’d like to thank Nathan for his commitment to the sport during his time as Director and look forward to continuing to have him as a part of our wider karting community for many years to come,” said Mr Davis.

All positions on the Karting Australia Board are volunteer roles. The 2023 Karting Australia Board is

Kevin Davis (Chair)
Andrew Westacott
Garth Tander
John Reynolds
Melissa Holzberger
Michael Masi
Rob Crawford
Samantha Reid