WSK Super Master Series, La Conca

Arvid Lindblad (OK, KR/IAME), Alex Powell (OK Junior, KR/IAME) and Christian Costoya (Mini, Parolin/TM) won the three classes contesting round 2 of the WSK Super Master Series at La Conca on the weekend.

Two Australians competed at the event. Griffin Peebles put in another strong performance to just miss the top ten in the huge Mini class, while James Wharton managed to get through to the final of OK, but only completed one lap.

Alex Powell takes out the Junior final (pic – WSK)

Griffin Peebles – Mini (Team Driver Racing Kart, KR/IAME)

Qualifying: 15th (of 60)
Heats: 6, 7, 5, 6 (ranking after heats – 12th)
Pre-Final B: 9th
Final: 12th

Griffen Peebles gets around the paddock at La Conca (pic – PeeblesFacebook)

James Wharton – OK (Parolin Motorsport, ParolinTM)

Qualifying: 35th (of 49)
Heats: 16, 14, 9, 8 (ranking after heats – 28th)
Pre-Final B: 11th
Final: 22rd (DNF)

James Wharton (pic – Wharton/Facebook)

  • full results are on the WSK website HERE

Official Finals Day race report

In La Conca, a total of 171 drivers from 44 nations got on track in the three categories MINI, OKJ and OK. KZ2 will get back on track from the next round of WSK Super Master Series in Sarno on March 28th after the opening race in Adria and then the closing race on April 25th in Lonato will also see all the four categories on track.

In the second round of WSK Super Master Series surprises did not go missing, starting from OK where two protagonists like the Italian Brando Badoer (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame) and the American Ugo Ugochukwu (Sauber/KR-Iame) had to give up due to an incident in Prefinal-A, but also in OK-Junior where the provisional leader Rashid Al Dhaheri (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing) did not finish Prefinal-A due to an incident.

Lindblad wins OK, Camara retains the lead of the classification

The OK final has had several drivers in the lead. The first position was initially taken by the Italian Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame), who got off to a great start from the pole position and kept the lead for half of the race, when he was overtaken by his teammate and classification leader Rafael Camara (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame), before losing some further positions afterwards. In the closing laps, the KR Motorsport driver from Britain Arvid Lindblad took the lead of the race and kept it all the way to the flag.


Arvid Lindblad, OK winner (pic – WSK)

He proceeded the Brazilian Camara and the Pole Tymoteus Kucharczyk (BirelART Racing/RK-TM Racing), while the Brit Joseph Turney (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) recovered up to P4. Antonelli had to settle for P5 and Alfio Andrea Spina (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) was sixth. Camara kept the lead of the classification at 164 points, Lindblad is second at 136.

OK Final result: 1. Lindblad; 2. Camara; 3. Kucharczyk; 4. Turney; 5. Antonelli; 6. Spina; 7. Taponen; 8. Malek; 9. Zhivnov; 10. Bertuca.
Championship classification: 1. Camara 164 points; 2. Lindblad 136; 3. Kucharczyk 77; 4. Antonelli 64; 5. Taponen 60.

OK podium (pic – WSK)

In OKJ Powell takes the win and the classification lead with it

In OK-Junior the Jamaican Alex Powell (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame) had the upper hand at the end of a good final that he led from lights to flag, while the other great protagonist of the weekend, Singapore’s Akshay Bohra, had to recover some ground after losing a few places at the start. At the flag, Bohra secured P2 behind Powell and was followed by the third driver of KR Motorsport, the Brazilian Matheus Ferreira. The Russian Tigran Bunatyan (Team Komarov/Tony Kart-TM Racing) was also among the fastest and claimed P4 from the Brazilian Miguel Costa (Sauber/KR-Iame).

The Belgian Douwe Dedecker (KR Motorsport/KR-Iame) was sixth at the end of a good recovery run and led the Russian Alexander Gubenko (Tony Kart Racing Team/Tony Kart-Vortex) and the Belgian Ean Eyckmans (Kosmic/Kosmic-Vortex). Powell installed himself on top of the championship at 108 points, relegating Al Dhaheri to P2 at 94.

OK Junior podium was a KR trio (pic – WSK)

OKJ Final result: 1. Powell; 2. Bohra; 3. Ferreira; 4. Bunatyan; 5. Costa; 6. Dedecker; 7. Gubenko; 8. Eyckmans; 9. Deligny; 10. Popov.
Championship classification: 1. Powell points 108; 2. Al Dhaheri 94; 3. Bohra 91; 4. Ferrerira 81; 5. Rehm 75.

Victory and classification lead to Costoya in MINI

Several position exchanges happened also in MINI, that was uncertain until the closing lap when the Spanish driver Christian Costoya (Parolin Motorsport/Parolin-TM Racing) had the best of his teammate from Colombia Matias Orjuela, who was second at the flag by just 0.009s. The third step of the podium went to the Russian Gerasim Skulanov (CRG Racing Team/CRG-TM Racing), who recovered several places and ended ahead of the other Russian Vladimir Ivannikov (Drago Corse/Parolin-TM Racing) and the Dutch René Lammers (Baby Race/Parolin-Iame). The latter was fifth and therefore was overtaken in the classification by Costoya that reached 127 points against the 119 scored so far by Lammers.

Side-by-side across the line in Mini, Christian Costoya (521) beating Matias Orjuela by 0.009s! (pic – WSK)

The Asian Tiziano Monza (Sauber/KR-Iame) secured a good sixth place and led the Italian Emanuele Olivieri (Formula K Serafini/IPK-TM Racing). The top ten was rounded off by the Pole Jan Przyrowsky (AV Racing/Parolin-TM Racing), the Thai Enzo Tarnvanichkul (Team Driver/KR-Iame) and the Austrian Niklas Schaufler (Emme Racing/EKS-TM Racing).

MINI Final result: 1. Costoya; 2. Orjuela; 3. Skulanov; 4. Ivannikov; 5. Lammers; 6. Sauber; 7. Olivieri; 8. Przyrowsky; 9. Tarnvanichkul; 10. Schaufler.
Championship classification: 1. Costoya points 127; 2. Lammers 119; 3. Skulanov 114; 4. Przyrowsky 107; 5. Orjuela 88.

Mini podium (pic – WSK)

The next events of WSK Super Master Series:
3rd Rd – 28/03/2021 SARNO – MINI-OKJ-OK-KZ2
4th Rd – 25/04/2021 LONATO – MINI-OKJ-OK-KZ2