Round 1, the Project-X Noisy Tour

from Kev ‘The Noise’ Davies

Well, what a trip it was! We ventured into KNSW territory and although not as many Qld drivers went as we hoped, it was still a fabulous weekend of racing at Coffs Harbour Kart Club.

In the Masters (old buggers), Jamie Gluyas got the win ahead of Trent Whyte with Darren Funston coming home third.

In the Restricted Heavies (famous pie eaters), two-tap Blayke Wagner pipped the Rockhampton Rocket Jacob Calwell to the win. With the points even, Blayke got it on countback. The international driver Gaven Whitmore came in third.

In the Restricted Light class (the midgets) Bosso (Peter Bossons) won it with the second Rockhampton Rocket Emily Calwell finishing a really close second. Coming home in third was the new comer Lachlan Spencer.


In the TaG Heavy class (sumo’s) the international driver Gaven Whitmore showed his class taking the win, and Blayke Wagner (two-tap) this time had to settle for second. Ian Lord drove well to finish third.

The Open Performance (loose units) saw Bosso, Peter Bossons, victorious once more and the captain (Scotty Cleveland) who we call steamer was second. Some back luck for the local favourite Zane Morrison saw him DNF the final meaning he eventually took third overall.

There was some exciting racing in the rest of the classes with Ash Campbell taking out the Senior Performance Light class, Joel Lammers won the Rookies class and Ryan Hughes drove really well all day to win the TaG Light class ahead of Zane Morrison and Lucas O’Connor. Junior Light saw a dominant performance from Seth Brown beating William Gallagher & Byron Burns.

The State of Origin perpetual trophy was won by NSW. 

State of Origin trophy (pic – The Noise)
  • full results are on speedhive HERE
  • all the race videos (including wet heats) are on Kev’s YouTube HERE
  • Lots of images on Kev’s Facebook HERE
  • Interviews and streams on Facebook HERE