All Aussies In at WSK Euro Round 2

All five Australians competing at the second round of the WSK Euro Series made it through to their finals.

James Wharton was the top placed OK-Junior, taking eighth in the Final. Christian Mansell finished 19th and Marcos Flack 24th.

In 60 Mini, Griffin Peebles was classified 20th (crossed the line 12th but incurred a nosecone penalty) and Peter Bouzinelous 22nd.

James Wharton, OKJ, Angerville (pic – Images)

Aussie Wrap:

  • Griffin Peebles (60 Mini, Parolin/TM): Q25. Heats – 13, 7, 9, 9 (ranked 24th). PF – 7. Final – 20th (penalty)
  • Peter Bouzinelous (60 Mini, Parolin/TM): Q20. Heats – 10, 15, 14, 16 (ranked 37th). PF – 17. Final – 22nd.
  • James Wharton (OKJ, FA/Vortex): Q11. Heats – 7, 7 (penalty), 1 (ranked 4th). PR – 7. Final – 8th.
  • Christian Mansell (OKJ, Exprit/Vortex): Q28. Heats – 23, 25, 23 (ranked 25th). PF – 17. Final – 19th.
  • Marcos Flack (OKJ, Energy/TM): Q30. Heats 30, 21, 22 (ranked 27th). PF – 20. Final – 24th.
OKJ Start (pic – Images)

WSK press report

Travisanutto confirms his winning ways in OK

Lorenzo Travisanutto confirmed to be the man to beat in Angerville as he won Prefinal and Final of OK. The Italian led the Final from lights to flag fending off the attacks of the British Dexter Patterson (both on KR-Iame-Bridgestone), before pulling away in the closing laps.

Travisanutto, OK (pic – Images)

Patterson ended the race in second position, leading the Dutch Dilano Van T’Hoff (Exprit-TM). Travisanutto installed himself on top of the classification after the first two rounds overtaking the Swede Dino Beganovic (Tony Kart-Vortex), who had a troubled weekend.


OK podium, Travisanutto between Patterson and Van T’Hoff (pic – Images)

Andrea Antonelli clinches the win in OKJ

A bold performance up to OK Junior’s Prefinal envisaged for the Dutch Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart-Vortex-Vega) to end with a deserved win in Angerville and he was also leading the Final. In the closing laps though, Ten Brinke and the Brith Jamie Day (Exprit-Vortex) were battling with each other when the Dutch lost some ground in an excursion.

Antonelli, OKJ (pic – Images)

Day secured, therefore, the win but was later on penalized by Stewards. The Italian Andrea Kimi Antonelli (KR-Iame) got the most of the situation and inherited the win at the end of a race always close to the leading duo. Antonelli was followed by the Dutch drivers Robert De Haan (Exprit-TM) and Laurens Van Hoepen (FA Kart-Vortex).

OK-Junior podium (pic – Images)

De Haan is currently leading the provisional classification as he overtook the previous leader Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-Vortex). Above, the OKJ podium with Antonelli and De Haan next to Day, before he was handed a penalty.

De Haan, OKJ (pic – Images)

Macintyre victorious in 60 Mini

The final lap has named the winner of 60 Mini at the end of a race that saw several contenders aiming to the win. United Arab Emirates’ Rashid Al Dhaheri got away from the pole position thanks to the victory of the Prefinal. Shortly after the Brit William Macintyre took the lead followed by the Belgian Ean Eyckmans (all on Parolin-TM-Vega).

Eyckmans, Mini (pic – Images)

These two started a battle and the Belgian managed to lead the British driver for a couple of laps before being taken by Macintyre and Al Dhaheri. The podium (above) welcomed the winner Macintyre followed by Al Dhaeri in second and Eyckmans in third. The British driver is now leading the standings.


60 Mini podium (pic – Images)