Cooloola Coast Round 4

by Ken Munro

Cooloola Coast Kart Club
Round 4 Club Championships Report

Race day dawned with a thick fog that lasted until after driving briefing at 9:00am but then cleared to a perfect sunny day.

Some great racing was had with a few standout performances of note.

Samuel James was dominant in the fiercely contested Cadet 12 class, winning all heats and the final in the seven-kart field. Minor placings were a close fought affair between Coby Govoni , Byron Compton and Zane Rinaldi with Coby finishing in 2nd place for the day.


Cadet 12 winner Samuel James

KA4 Junior were really on pace with lap record times being recorded. The pace was really on at the front with positions changing regularly. The front running contenders were Blake Lockett, Ryan Newton and Kyle Evans. The day finished up with Lockett being disqualified from the event for a scrutineering penalty leaving the placings to go to Kyle Evans in first, Ryan Newton in 2nd and Byron Philips finishing 3rd.

KA4 Junior, Ryan Newton (66) pursued by Blake Lockett

Adam Strohfeldt had a dominant day in TaG Restricted Light taking the overall win from Dean Grant and Arthur Ontatzis.

Adam Strohfeldt (75) from Dean Grant (25), Arthur Ontatzis (5) and Colin Kirvan (88), TaG Restricted Light

Tag Restricted Medium was a very hard fought out battle between Timothy Wagner, Paul Vandermeer, Alex Hartigan and Trever Pronk. Lots of positional changes and various race results ended with Wagner on top followed by Vandermeer and the “P” plater Hartigan.

The Cooloola Coast Kart Club’s next meeting is on June 25th .  As always everyone is welcome. The feature class will be Cadet 12 with a set of tyres up for grabs.


Timothy Wagner (17), Paul van der Meer (58) and Alex Hartigan (94-P), TaG R Medium