Warwick's Presention Night

by Russell Innes 24 December 2014

Warwick Kart Club 2014 Championship Presentation Night

WKC members and guests gathered at the Jackie Howe Motel for the 2014 Warwick Kart Club Championship Presentations on the evening of the 13th of December. Club President Peter Lane thanked all the club members who had helped contribute to a wonderful year for the club and highlighted the significant achievements by the WKC in 2014.

Numbers to race meetings at Sandy Creek Raceway increased by 30% this year with an average attendance of 74 and it highlights how popular racing at Warwick is becoming with many more of the big city folk from Brisbane and the Gold Coast making the trip up through Cunningham Gap to race.

WKC made a big effort to welcome the SEK (Endurance Karting) folk this year and they now call Sandy Creek Raceway their home club and have been fantastic contributors to the club.

2014 saw the inaugural Junior Development Camp and this will be even bigger in 2015 with a significant corporate sponsor due to support the Camp and other exciting initiatives to be announced soon.

WKC completed a huge amount of track and facility improvements and upgrades in 2014, all done by a small but extremely dedicated group of members. These included the new scales area complete, dual battery system for the upgraded track lights, wifi system installed, gas hot water system for the shower/toilet blocks, tv and computer screens at the canteen with live race details, track improvements including new tyre barriers around all flag points, etc.

All of this has elevated Sandy Creek Raceway to possibly the best equipped regional facility in Australia and certainly was part of the reason that WKC will again be hosting a Round of the Rotax Pro Tour in 2015.

The WKC will continue with improvements in 2015, including a full dummy grid with cover in addition to the existing in and out grids.

Club Champions announced on the night were:

  • Cadets - Chris Christensen (Champion) Chase Gooding (Runner up)
  • Rookies - Harrison Stock (Champion) Marcos Innes (Runner up)
  • J Max - Daniel Plant (Champion) Nic Lane (Runner up)
  • Sportsman Light - Shane Roberts (Champion) Luke Thomas (Runner up)
  • Sportsman Heavy – Nathan Pearce (Champion) Stephen Wilkinson (Runner up)
  • TaG 125 – Lachlan Palmer (Champion)

warwick kart club presentation night 2014
Above: Chris Christensen – Cadet Champion & the Ron Duffield Memorial Gold Medal winner
pic - Liz Christensen

Other Awards went to:

  • Club Junior Driver of the Year – Nic Lane
  • Club Senior Driver of the Year – Shane Roberts
  • Junior Achievement Award – Daniel Plant
  • Ron Duffield Memorial Gold Medal – Chris Christensen
  • Ron Duffield Memorial Silver Medal – Chase Gooding
  • Junior Karter Achiever Award – Isaac Christensen
  • Senior Karter Achiever Award – Nathan Hoffman

WKC received additional recognition on the night with SEK awarding Sandy Creek Raceway their Venue of the Year Award and the WKC Canteen run by Steve and Julie Lamb being awarded the Canteen of the Year by SEK.

warwick kart club presentation night 2014
Above: Steve and Julie Lamb with Vice President Michael Plant and President Peter Lane
pic - Liz Christensen

warwick kart club presentation night 2014
Above: Daniel Plant – J Max Champion, with father Michael
pic - Liz Christensen

warwick kart club presentation night 2014
Above: Shane Roberts – Sportsman Light Champion
pic - Liz Christensen

warwick kart club presentation night 2014
Above: Nic Lane – Club Junior Driver of the Year, with father Peter
pic - Liz Christensen


kartsportnews promo banner