Geraldton Turns It On For WA State Championships

from Karting Australia 6 October 2014

The regional town of Geraldton was the focus for Western Australian kart racers across the weekend with the State Champions being crowned for 2014.

While Kip Foster added another State Championship to the illustrious list of achievements throughout his career, Ben Harders doubled up by taking out both the Junior National Heavy and Junior Clubman classes.

Foster’s win in the X30 Heavy final came ahead of polesitter Simon Gwilliam while 2013 Clubman Heavy Champion Bayley Mickler finished third. Hometown favourite Matt Davis qualified fastest but could only manage seventh at the chequered flag in the final. Davis was able to make amends in the Clubman Heavy ranks with victory on his home track ahead of Jake Burton.

Kip Foster was victorious in X30 Heavy
Above: Kip Foster was victorious in X30 Heavy

Harders led all but the opening lap of the Junior National Heavy final before taking a clean sweep of all races in Junior Clubman ahead of Jordan Love and Thomas Schou.

Not to be outdone by hid older brother, Jack Harders secured the win in the Rookies class while Jesse Thomas snared the Junior National Light crown ahead of Keb Evans and Brock Kenny.

Ex-pat South Australian Anthony Higgs set the pace in the early running of the Clubman Super Heavy races before Lee Foster charged his way from 12th to reign supreme in the final.

Perth driver Adam Levi proved too good for his opposition in X30 Light, as did South Australian youngster Kai Allen in Cadets when he led home Victorian duo Sean Larkin and Jay Hanson.

Thomas Gray took out Senior National while Alex Waters won Clubman Light. Shane McPherson won all but one of the races contested in the Clubman Over 40s ranks across the weekend as fastest qualifier Tyler Peel proved too good in the Open class.

2014 Patience Bulk Haulage WA Sprint Kart Championships, Geraldton, WA
RESULTS: Final (Top Three)

Junior National Light
1. Jesse Thomas
2. Keb Evans
3. Brock Kenny

Clubman Super Heavy
1. Lee Foster
2. Anthony Higgs
3. William Nicholson

1. Kai Allen
2. Sean Larkin
3. Jay Hanson

X30 Heavy
1. Kip Foster
2. Simon Gwilliam
3. Bayley Mickler

Junior National Heavy
1. Ben Harders
2. Tayla Dicker
3. Jason Betts

Senior National
1. Thomas Gray
2. Jake Truarn
3. Siobhan Sutherland

Clubman Light
1. Alex Waters
2. Aaron Grossman
3. Jesse Elliott

1. Jack Harders
2. Aaron Love
3. Jake Sawyer

Clubman Heavy
1. Matt Davis
2. Jake Burton
3. Brenton Magri

X30 Light
1. Adam Levi
2. Nathan Davis
3. Lewis Sutherland

Junior Clubman
1. Ben Harders
2. Jordan Love
3. Thomas Schou

Over 40s
1. Shane McPherson
2. Rob Landsmeer
3. Randle Beavis

1. Tyler Peel
2. Simon Gwilliam
3. Jesse Elliott


kartsportnews promo banner