NSW State Champions Crowned In Grenfell

from Karting Australia 6 October 2014

After three intense days of competition by more than 200 competitors, ten Champions were crowned at the Schweppes New South Wales Sprint Kart Championships in Grenfell on Sunday.

Fresh from a six month stint in Europe, Pierce Lehane proved why he is considered one ofthe world’s top karting talents with a dominant victory in X30 Light.

Above: Pierce Lehane leading James Sera in X30 Light
pic - Coopers Photography

Lehane qualified fastest and won every race aboard his TF Race Engines-powered Redspeed while karting veteran James Sera claimed the runner-up spot. The pair finished ahead of a hard charging Matthew Waters and Jason Burns, both who failed to finish the pre-final leaving them to come from the back of the field in the final.

Sera went one better in the Clubman Light class to secure his fifth State crown of 2014. The FA Kart driver led home Townsville’s Josh Smith all across the weekend while Nick Becker rounded out the podium.

In the over-subscribed Junior National Light class, that saw 39 drivers on the entry list, Toowoomba driver William Brown and Victorian Dylan Hollis swapped the lead in the early parts of the 24-lap final. However, it was Brown who showed the superior speed to pull clear of the field and claim a comfortable win. Hollis was second ahead of Scuderia PCR Australia driver Benito Montalbano, Joshua Car and Ryan Suhle.

Above: William Brown (centre) celebrating his win
pic - Coopers Photography

Brown also finished second in the Junior Clubman class behind Cody Gillis. The Tom Williamson Motorsport driver led every lap of the final while Brown, Hollis, Car and Fullwood ran in close proximity of each other.

Queenslander Brendan Nelson continued his dominant form of 2014 with a comprehensive win in X30 Heavy, while Jack Doohan and Scott Simpson were victorious in Rookies and Clubman Super Heavy respectively.

Former National Champion Jason Newman claimed his maiden State Championship in Senior National. Shay Mayes was victorious in Clubman Heavy and John Iafolla continued his stellar year with victory in Junior National Heavy.

Above: Jason Newman (#12) leading the Senior National field
pic - Coopers Photography

For the first time in many years, the New South Wales Championships will be held across two separate events with another seven champions to be crowned on November 14-16 in Port Macquarie.

Grenfell, NSW

RESULTS: Final (Top Three)

X30 Light
1. Pierce Lehane
2. James Sera
3. Matthew Waters

Junior Clubman
1. Cody Gillis
2. William Brown
3. Dylan Hollis

X30 Heavy
1. Brendan Nelson
2. Mason Barbera
3. Matthew Boylan

Clubman Light
1. James Sera
2. Joshua Smith
3. Nicholas Becker

James Sera celebrating his win in Clubman Light
Above: James Sera celebrating his win in Clubman Light
pic - Coopers Photography

Junior National Light
1. William Brown
2. Dylan Hollis
3. Benito Montalbano

1. Jack Doohan
2. Joshua Smith
3. William Seal

Senior National
1. Jason Newman
2. Joseph Tighe
3. Shaun Costello

Junior National Heavy
1. John Iafolla
2. William Brown
3. Cody Donald

John Iafolla crossing the line for victory in Junior National Heavy
Above: John Iafolla crossing the line for victory in Junior National Heavy
pic - Coopers Photography

Clubman Super Heavy
1. Scott Simpson
2. Bruce Otter
3. Alex Tayler

Clubman Heavy
1. Shay Mayes
2. Jason Varley
3. Brett Robinson

For the Full Results, please click here


kartsportnews promo banner