Carruthers Wins Finale and Gold Cup Title

by Phil Michell 15 August 2014

Last Sunday (August 10) saw the conclusion of the 2014 Remo Racing 100cc Gold Cup at the Angas Go Kart Club, Strathalbyn with Dave Carruthers proving to be too strong as he dominated the event. Not only did Carruthers claim the Round 2 victory he also managed to secure the overall points Championship and in the process he became only the third driver to be crowned the Gold Cup Champion in its five year history.

The day started with each of the 18 drivers conducting time trials with Carruthers stamping his authority on the event early as he set the quickest time stopping the clocks at 17.902 seconds just edging out Josh Ryan, who was the only other driver in the 17 second bracket (17.944). Brad Dalwood, Lisa Walker and Keaton Szach completed the top five in a very entertaining qualifying session.

With heat one seeing the fastest drivers seeded to the back Tom Dewhurst managed to win the drama filled opening heat after starting from position three. The opening 10 lap heat saw a number of casualties including Josh Ryan and Hayden Kendrick, who both rolled in the Crouch Chicane in separate incidents, and Brad Connor who dropped a chain. The top five was completed by Brett Billing, Joe Caruso, Tegan Tranter and Lisa Walker.

With the fastest drivers starting up front in the second heat it proved to be a Carruthers benefit as he won easily from Walker, Brad Dalwood, Szach and Caruso.

At the completion of the heats Carruthers emerged as the top qualifier and he went on to win the Dash from Caruso, Billing, Dewhurst, Szach and Walker. Unfortunately Walker was the big loser of the 4 lap dash as she fell to the tail of the field after starting from position 2.

Prior to the final the remaining drivers competed in a B-main to decide positions 7 to 18 with Jordan Rayner proving too strong.

Therefore Caruthers, Caruso, Billing and Dewhurst led the field in for the 18 lap final and with the final running non-stop there was no stopping Caruthers as he drove his #21 BRK to a convincing win ahead of Rayner, who put in a stunning drive to get the better of Caruso late in the race. Fourth across the line was Szach, with Josh Ryan, Daniel Wenske, Rhys Hackett, Brad Hammond, Tranter, and Kendrick completing the top 10.

Brett Billing was an unfortunate non finisher after a mechanical failure put him out of the final while holding down a very competitive second place while Walker was also a non-finisher after being involved in an opening lap crash.

Therefore after the completion of the two round series Dave Caruthers was named the overall Remo Racing 100cc Gold Cup champion ahead of Joe Caruso, Jordan Rayner, Lisa Walker, Daniel Wenske and Brett Billing.


kartsportnews promo banner