Stars of Karting Will Go Down To The Wire

by SoK 27 July 2014

All three of the Castrol EDGE CIK Stars of Karting Championships will go down to the final round at Todd Road (September 20-21) after a dramatic weekend in Newcastle.

Victorian Aaron Cameron (Arrow) had a breakthrough victory in the elite junior category, KF3. He took both finals today becoming the first driver since Jayden Ojeda (Exprit) at round one this year to achieve that feat.

Above: Aaron Cameron enjoying the spoils of his maiden win in KF3
pic - Coopers Photohgraphy

He was pushed all the way by the winner of the last two rounds of the Championship, Zane Morse (Tony Kart) – who has placed himself within striking distance of leader, Ojeda after this weekend’s events.

After finishing second in final one, Ojeda had a first turn coming together in the second final that dropped him down the order. Showing true Championship quality, the Sydney-sider fought back to finish fifth behind his team-mate, Chris Sandrone.

Finishing third, Ojeda’s strongest challenger for the Title, Bryce Fullwood was able to close the gap, albeit by just four points.

The Title battle in KF2 where the Champion is awarded the James Courtney Perpetual Trophy, is even closer, just as today’s racing was. Nathan Tigani took out the opening final to bring himself to within four points of Championship leader coming into the weekend, Troy Loeskow.

Loeskow bounced back in the second final in emphatic fashion, stalking early leader Tigani and then moving to the lead before pulling away out in front. In the end, the gap was 2.665 seconds.

Above: Troy Loeskow on his victory lap after winning KF2 in Newcastle
pic - Coopers Photohgraphy

As well as the New South Wales State Championship, Loeskow was awarded the Franco Guaitoli Memorial Shield. Tigani came home second.

The battle for third was just as exciting as the battle for the lead. The pair of Harrington Doyle Racing Arrows were racing hard with Adam Willison (Energy). Sorenson and Willison had a collision on the opening lap which pushed Willison out of the order. Post race, officials deemed Sorenson the cause and gave him a one-place penalty, elevating Willison to the podium.

In the six-speed gearbox KZ2 class, David Sera, who wrapped up his 16th and 17th Australian Titles at Newcastle in April completed the perfect weekend. He was undefeated in every race he contested.

The first final was a canter for the Deadly Kart driver. He won by over eight seconds from Queenslander Kyle Ensbey (Maranello) and Championship leader, Joey Hanssen (CRG).

In the second final, Ensbey led away and then Sera worked his way to the lead and pulled clear.

Ensbey had a gaggle of karts lined up behind him and then Chris Hays (Energy) pushed his way past Ensbey to take over the second position. In quick succession, Ensbey drifted a couple more places backwards.

The battle for third on track between the two veterans, Kel Treseder (Energy) and Matthew Wall (Vemme Kart) was one for the ages. The pair sat millimetres apart for the back part of the race, however Wall was unable to make the move on Treseder despite it going to the chequered flag.

As it turned out, the battle was more important than first thought. Post race officials handed a two place penalty to Hays for his role in the incident with Ensbey, which granted Treseder second and Wall third. Hanssen finished sixth behind Ensbey.

It is mathematically possible for Sera to win the Championship, which will be held on his home track in Melbourne in September.

Above: David Sera on his way to victory in KZ2
pic - Coopers Photohgraphy

In the support categories – local hopes hinged on Andrew Torville in TaG Heavy. It was one of the most entertaining races of the weekend, Torville pushing Series leader Brendan Nelson to the chequered flag. Nelson’s Arrow crossed the line to remain undefeated in the category this year and it was his 10th consecutive final victory in what has been a remarkable 2014.

In TaG Light, Mitchell Hewitt got the best of a brilliant multi-kart race to take victory. He pushed his way to the front late in the race, taking Aaron Borg with him. Queenslander Adam Mercer ended up with the final podium position following a thrilling fight that also included Australian V8 Utes Championship leader, Kris Walton – who ended up fourth after leading for the first half of the race.

Mitchell Hewitt was victorious in TAG 125 Light
Above: Mitchell Hewitt was victorious in TAG 125 Light
pic - Coopers Photohgraphy

Tyler O’Leary won the Rookies, TaG Restricted Light was won my Michael Pryor and TaG Restricted Heavy was taken out by Michael Dorman.

The next and final round of the CIK Stars of Karting Championship will take place over the weekend of September 20-21 at Todd Road in Port Melbourne.

A large crowd was  in attendance at Round Four in Newcastle
Above: A large crowd was in attendance at Round Four in Newcastle
pic - Coopers Photohgraphy

Championship Points:

  • KZ2
    1. Joey Hanssen - 436 points
    2. David Sera – 378
    3. Chris Hays – 349
    4. Kyle Ensbey – 341
    5. Jordie Ford – 332

  • KF2
    1. Troy Loeskow - 405
    2. Nathan Tigani – 398
    3. Jarryd Ebzery – 367
    4. Scott Sorensen – 366
    5. Matthew Waters – 357

  • KF3
    1. Jayden Ojeda – 397 points
    2. Bryce Fullwood – 360
    3. Chris Sandrone – 349
    4. Zane Morse – 341
    5. Aaron Cameron – 332

  • TAG 125 Light 1. Walton 147, 2. Rochford 143, 3. Mercer 84, 4. Morrisey 64, 5. Bergens 61
  • TAG 125 Heavy 1. Nelson 200, 2. O’Mara 119, 3. Rodgers 100, 4. Whitmore 87, 5. Hindle 66
  • Rookies 1. Doohan 158, 2. Joshua Smith 154, 3. O’Leary 129, 4. Sinni 128, 5. Sawyer 73

Tyler O'Leary celebrating his win in the Rookies class
Above: Tyler O'Leary celebrating his win in the Rookies class
pic - Coopers Photohgraphy

The TAG 125 Heavy podium
Above: The TAG 125 Heavy podium
pic - Coopers Photohgraphy


kartsportnews promo banner