Record Breaking Win for Palmerston North Boys High

press release 14 July 2014

Palmerston North Boys High School is officially New Zealand's winningest KartSport school, students Dylan Drysdale and Jacob Cranston having earned it a record fourth Secondary Schools title at this year's Toyota Racing New Zealand-backed KartSport New Zealand National Schools' Championship at home in Palmerston North over the weekend.

Students won the school the premier Secondary Schools' title for the first time at the third annual KartSport New Zealand National Schools title meeting in 2005 and since then the Manawatu school has held it three more times, in 2010, 2012 and now 2014.

Schools from Invercargill in the south to Auckland in the north were represented at the weekend meeting, hosted by the school and KartSport Manawatu at the club's Manawatu Toyota Raceway in Shirriffs Rd.

Dylan Drysdale was one of seven individual class title winners at the meeting, leading home schoolmates Jacob Cranston and Michael McCulloch in the Formula Junior class on Saturday. It was close too, with just one point separating Drysdale and Cranston after each won two heats but Drysdale won the final from Cranston and Hawke's Bay driver Taylor Harte.

Formula Junior class winner Dylan Drysdale (#30) from Palmerston North leading one of his heats
Above: Formula Junior class winner Dylan Drysdale (#30) from Palmerston North leading one of his heats
pic - Fast Company/Graham Hughes

Michael McCulloch was in the mix for a top two spot having claimed two seconds and two thirds to start the final heat from P2 on the grid. But he spun on the rain-dampened track surface and had to work his way back up through the field to cross the finish line in a 'what-might-have-been' ninth place.

Drysdale and Cranston also featured in the Junior 100cc Yamaha class results on Sunday, finishing second and third respectively behind class winner, Taupo Nui-a-Tia College driver Trey Nairn. Again it was close, Drysdale winning two of the heats and Cranston the final, but Nairn got it but two points from Drysdale with Cranston a further point back.

Junior restricted 100cc Yamaha class winner Liam Lawson
Above: Junior restricted 100cc Yamaha class winner Liam Lawson
pic - Fast Company/Graham Hughes

Other class title winners over the two days were Christchurch's Jacob Mitchell, the reigning and three-time South Island class champion, in Cadet Raket, Ryan Wood from Wellington in Vortex Mini ROK, Connor Davison from Hamilton in Cadet ROK, Liam Lawson from Pukekohe in Junior Restricted 100cc Yamaha and CJ Sinclair from Auckland in 125cc Rotax Max Light.

Mitchell, from Clearview Primary School in Rolleston, south of Christchurch, won three of the four heats and the final to claim top honours in the Cadet Raket class from reigning class NZ Sprint champion Thomas Boniface from Woodleigh School in New Plymouth, and Connor Davison from Newstead Model Country School near Hamilton

It was closer at the front in the new Vortex Mini ROK class, with Ryan Wood (representing Birchville School, Wellington) claiming just the one win in the heats on top of his final win for overall victory from Jaden Ransley (St Thomas' of Canterbury) and Tom Greig (Palmerston North Normal Intermediate).

125cc Rotax Max Light winner CJ Sinclair
Above: 125cc Rotax Max Light winner CJ Sinclair
pic - Fast Company/Graham Hughes

While most of the racing was conducted on a dry track some rain did fall over the weekend, with the 125cc Rotax Max class final heat run in wet conditions with the drivers on wet tyres.

Wet or dry it didn't seem to matter to eventual title winner CJ Sinclair from Auckland's Howick College, the only driver to win two heats, including the wet final. Second overall was Campbell Joyes from Hamilton's St Johns College, with Liam Young representing Mosgiel's Taieri College, flying the flag for the lower South Island drivers, in third.

Cadet Raket class winner Jacob Mitchell from Christchurch
Above: Cadet Raket class winner Jacob Mitchell from Christchurch
pic - Fast Company/Graham Hughes


2014 Secondary Schools Championship
Palmerston North Boys High School
(Jacob Cranston & Dylan Drysdale)

2014 Primary/Intermediate Schools Championship
Palmerston North Normal Intermediate ( Newbury School Palmerston North
(Tom Greig & Jackson Rooney)

Saturday Results:

Cadet Raket
1. Jacob Mitchell 4 points; 2. Thomas Boniface 10; 3. Connor Davison 14; 4. William Exton 19; 5. Jackson Rooney 23; 6. Clay Osborne 24

Vortex Mini ROK
1. Ryan Wood 11 points; 2. Jaden Ransley 13; 3. Tom Greig 15; 4. Riley Jack 20; 5. Josh Donohue 20; 6. Dylan Frere 27 

Formula Junior
1. Dylan Drysdale 5 points; 2. Jacob Cranston 6; 3. Michael McCulloch 10; 4. Kaleb Ngatoa 16; 5. Ayden Polaschek 20; 6. Maddy Stewart 23 

Sunday Results:

Cadet ROK
1. Connor Davison 12 points; 2. Thomas Boniface 14; 3. Cullern Thorby 19; 4. Jacob Mitchell 19; 5. Billy Frazer 19; 6 William Exton 19

Junior 100cc Yamaha
1. Trey Nairn 8 points; 2. Dylan Drysdale 10; 3. Jacob Cranston 11; 4. Ayden Polaschek 13; 5. Suvarn Naidoo 16; 6. Kaleb Ngatoa  22

Junior Restricted 100cc Yamaha
1. Liam Lawson 8 points; 2. Tom Greig 8; 3. Lee Zeltwanger; 4. Ryan Wood 16; 5. Joshua Parkinson 20; 6. Sam Wright 21

125cc Rotax Max Light
1. CJ Sinclair 7 points; 2. Campbell Joyes 9; 3. Liam Young 15; 4. James Blair 16; 5. Josh Adlam 17; 6. Bill McCulloch 22

2003 Rangitoto College, Auckland
2004 St Kentigern College, Auckland
2005 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2006 Waimea College, Nelson
2007 St Kentigern College
2008 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2009 St Andrews College, Christchurch
2010 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2011 Auckland Grammar School, Auckland
2012 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North
2013 Burnside High School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Boys High, Palmerston North

2003 Rangeview Intermediate, Auckland
2004 Waimea Intermediate, Nelson
2005 Marina View School Auckland
2006 Russley Primary & St Kentigern Intermediate ChCh & Auckland
2007 Albany Primary, Auckland
2008 Waikari School and Kaikorai Valley College, Dunedin
2009 Newbury School, Palmerston North
2010 Taradale Intermediate, Napier
2011 Windsor Primary/Chisnell Wood Intermediate, Christchurch
2012 College Street Normal School Palmerston North
2013 Medbury School, Christchurch
2014 Palmerston North Normal Int & Newbury Primary School, Palmerston North


kartsportnews promo banner