AKA Release National Calendar For 2014

AKA media 29 August 2013

The dates and venues for the National karting events throughout 2014 were finalised at the recent National Karting Council Conference.

aka logoKicking off the National Calendar will once again be the Annual Ladies Special National Event at Lithgow in New South Wales on January 25/26.

The CIK Stars of Karting Series will keep a similar date format to what has been successful over the past three years and the 2014 edition of the series will be contested across five rounds from March through to September.

The first of five rounds will explode into action under lights at the Ipswich Kart Track in Queensland on March 28/29.  The condensed format will see qualifying and the opening round of heat races contested on Friday afternoon/evening ahead of the remaining heats and finals on Saturday. 

Round two will see the series return to the Bolivar Raceway with a round to be hosted by the Southern Go-kart Club on May 3/4.  Round three will be contested at a Victorian venue on the weekend of June 14/15 with the penultimate round to be held in New South Wales on the traditional date for the Premier State across the final weekend in July (26/27).  Victoria’s Port Melbourne circuit at the home of the Go-Kart Club of Victoria will again host the Grand Final on September 20/21.

The Oakleigh Go-Kart Racing Club will host the 2014 Victorian Open Sprint Kart Championships on March 7-9 before the focus turns towards the National Championships in Newcastle on April 18-20.

One of Queensland's newest Clubs, the Whitsunday Moto Sports Club, will be the venue for the Queensland State Open Championships on July 4-6 while date for the Northern Territory Championships in Darwin will be advised at a later date.

Queensland's Ipswich Kart Club will once again host the Rotax Nationals on the first weekend in September before a double-header of State Championships on either side of the country will be held on the first weekend in October.  The Sapphire Kart Club in Bega will play host to the New South Wales Championships while the Mid West Kart Club in Geraldton will be the venue for the Western Australian Championships.

The opening weekend of November will see the Whyalla Kart Club as the focus for the South Australian Championships followed two weeks later by the Tasmanian State Open Championships at the Southern Tasmanian Kart Club's Orielton circuit.

2014 AKA National Calendar
Dates and Venues

Ladies Special National Event
January 25/26
Lithgow, NSW

Victorian Open State Championships
March 7-9
Oakleigh, Victoria

CIK Stars of Karting Series - Round 1
March 28/29
Ipswich, QLD

52nd National Sprint Kart Championships
April 18-20
Newcastle, NSW

CIK Stars of Karting Series - Round 2
May 3/4
Bolivar, SA

CIK Stars of Karting Series - Round 3
June 14/15
Venue TBC, Victoria

Queensland Open State Championships
July 4-6
Whitsunday, QLD

Northern Territory Championships
Darwin, NT

CIK Stars of Karting Series - Round 4
July 26/27
Venue TBC, New South Wales

Rotax Nationals
September 6/7
Ipswich, QLD

CIK Stars of Karting Series - Round 5
September 20/21
Melbourne, Vic

NSW State Open Sprint Championships
October 3-5
Bega, NSW

Westen Australian State Open Championships
October 3-5
Geraldton, WA

South Australian State Open Championships
November 1-3
Whyalla, SA

Tasmanian State Open Championships
November 14-16
Orielton, Tasmania




kartsportnews promo banner