Aussies In Italy @ WSK Round

  19 March 2017

Australians Marcos Flack and Jack Doohan are racing in Italy this weekend, competing at round 3 of the WSK Super Master Series at La Conca.

Flack (Team Gamoto CRG) qualified 36th in the 66-kart 60 Mini field while Doohan (RFM, FA Kart) was 12th in the 53-strong OK-Junior class.

Flack has had dramatically mixed heat results (6-27-13-25) which has seen him drop to 45th in the rankings. He'll need a strong run tonight (Australian time) in Pre-Final A to make the main Final.

Doohan remains 12th after 8th, 5th and 10th in his heats. He'll race in Pre-Final B.

  • Sunday's Pre-Finals and Finals will be live streamed via the WSK website HERE from 11am local time (9pm AEDT)
  • All the results can be found HERE

Above: After the heat racing, Patrik Hajek leads the rankings in KZ2 (pic - images)

press release, heat races

Hajek challenges all in KZ2

The Czeck Patrik Hajek (Kosmic-Vortex-Bridgestone) wants to become the man to beat in KZ2: he finished the series of Heats in top position thanks to two victories. The driver from Prague will have the Italian Marco Ardigò (Tony Kart-Vortex) next to him in the front row of the Prefinal A starting grid. It will be a grid full of big names, given that the second row will be occupied by the English Ben Hanley (Croc-TM) the Dutch Bas Lammers (Sodi-TM), the current leader of the category. He placed second in the qualifying stage scoring a victory: the Dutch Jorrit Pex (CRG-TM) will be the pole-sitter of the Prefinal B, with the French Jeremy Iglesias (Formula K-TM) in second position. Big names on this grid too, with the slots of the second rows filled by the Italian Lorenzo Camplese (Parolin-TM) and the French Anthony Abbasse (Sodi-TM).


Edgar the surprise in OKJ

Johnny Edgar (Exprit-TM-Vega) was the most consistent in an OK Junior full of surprises. For the English, a success was more than enough to gain the pole in the Prefinal A. Second slot of the grid for the Dutch Kas Haverkort (CRG-Parilla). Unexpected results also for the second row, which will be occupied by the English Zak O’Sullivan (FA Kart-Vortex) and the Brazilian Gabriel Bortoleto (CRG-Parilla). The English Harry Thompson, winner in two Heats but only eighth in the third, is the pole-sitter of the Prefinal B, with the Swedish Dino Beganovic (Tony Kart-Vortex) in second position. Excellent second row with the Estonian Paul Aron (Tony Kart-Vortex) and the Italian Leonardo Marseglia (Zanardi-Parilla).

Above: Johnny Edgar (pic - images)

Novalak back on top in OK

In the OK, the British Clement Novalak (Tony Kart-Vortex-Vega) struck immediately back after the third position scored yesterday. He won two of today’s six heats and gained the head of the qualifying standings. He will start from the first slot of the grid of the Prefinal A, but the Polish Karol Basz (Kosmic-Vortex), second, is eager to give him a hard time. The Brit will also need to watch his back carefully, given that the second row is occupied by two strong drivers such as the German David Schumacher and the Spanish Pedro Hiltbrand (both on Tony Kart-Vortex), ready to take over the leadership of the race. The Spanish David Vidales (Tony Kart-Vortex), second behind Novalak, won a heat and will start from the pole position of the Prefinal B. Next to him the Italian Lorenzo Travisanutto (Zanardi-Parilla), another frontrunner. Behind them, in second row, the Belgian Ulysse De Pauw (Kosmic-Parilla) and the Malaysian Bin Abdul Muizzuddin (DR-Parilla).

Above: Clement Novalak ahead of David Vidales (pic - images)

Minì leads in 60Mini

It was not easy to beat Gabriele Minì (Parolin-TM) today. He won three times and placed second in another heat and tomorrow, of course, he will be the pole-sitter of the Prefinal A in 60 Mini. The Italian will have the Brazilain Rafael Camara (BirelArt-TM) next to him, while the second row will be occupied by the Chinese Cenyu Han (Energy-TM) and Nikhil Bohra (CRG-TM) from Singapore. The current leader of the category, Andrea Antonelli (Tony Kart-Vortex), will start from the pole position of the Prefinal A thanks to his two victories. Second slot for the Russian Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-TM). Behind them the American Ugo Ugochukwu (Energy-Iame) and the Italian Federico Albanese (Righetti-Ridolfi-TM).

Above: Gabriele Minì (pic - images)



kartsportnews promo banner